Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
No one needs to add any chemicals or pickle crisp in their pickles. When washing your cucumbers cut the flower end off of it. There is an enzyme in it that will eventually cause your pickles to go soft. Everyone raves over mine and I haven't had a jar of pickles go soft for years even after being in the jar for a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Oh my gosh - these are the BEST. I tried a Ball recipe on my first go round and ended up dumping them out. These are perfect! The difference is the white vinegar and less of the pickling spice. I did add 1/8 t. of Ball Pickle Crisp to each pint jar. They are crunchy, tart, delicious. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These are crisp pickles.but I found out Ball has a jar of pickle crisp that you can add to each canning jar after filling the jars. I just bought some to use on my 16 quarts of pickles I canned yesterday. I found it at walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! Although I love garlic, I prefer the simpler taste of "Pop's" original recipe without garlic. The first time I made these, I didn't have dill heads or seed, so I substituted 4 sprigs of fresh dill weed per 1 litre jar (2 sprigs at the bottom, 2 sprigs on top), and the result was great. I find have to increase the brine recipe by about a half to make sure I can fully cover the pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s©tt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Great recipe. Will use it every year. I only had dill seed, so I used about two teaspoons per pint jar. I put two cloves of garlic in each jar. I like the garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KERYNE
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Good Basic Recipe for pickles. I made this by cutting my cucumbers into spears and cutting the blossom end off. I could not locate fresh dill heads and did not want the little pieces of green on the pickle, so I used dill seed. What I liked about this recipe is the right balance of salt and sweet, the sterilization instructions, and the amount of processing time, and the fact that you can adapt this recipe to your tastes by adding garlic or hot peppers. I did add 1/4 tsp of pickling crisp to each of my quart jars based upon advice from other Canners. I used two tsps of dill seed per jar and added half of a seeded serrano pepper to two of the 4 jars. My daughter is intrigued by the process so I am going back to the farmer's market for more cucumbers. Thanks for sharing a great recipe that takes me down memory lane. UPDATE After 8 wks, we opened a jar and they were delicious. The pickles are crunchy and the taste of the dill, garlic, salt, vinegar, and sugar are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Scaled this recipe way down....used 6 large kirbys that I cut into 4 spears each.....used only 2 tblspns of sugar which was sweet enough.....and used 1 heaping tspn of dried dill per quart....I also used 2 plastic tupperware type containers with screw on lids instead of jars...so I eliminated the sterilizing process and made these just refrigerator pickles. My crushed garlic did turn a bit blue...which I know is from the oxidizing from the vinegar.....no problem....just for flavor anyway....but a true 5 stars from this recipe....a very tasty and garlick-y, dill-y pickle in just 4 days. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Amazing, perfect dill-pickle flavor. I did mine as slices and they're the BEST. I'll be making these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Awesome Taste Easy to do but I had to triple the brine recipe to do 10 pounds of cucumbers. Either the allrecipe's calculator is out of whack or the recipe isn't quite accurate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I found this recipe on another site a few weeks ago. It was my first try at making pickles. It was super easy. I just tried my first pickle a couple days ago and they were fantastic. I liked them so much, I made another 8 jars last night. The recipe I made also called for mustard and celery seed. Not sure what the taste difference is; but it does add a nice look to the pickles in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States