Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These are crisp pickles.but I found out Ball has a jar of pickle crisp that you can add to each canning jar after filling the jars. I just bought some to use on my 16 quarts of pickles I canned yesterday. I found it at walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Great recipe. Will use it every year. I only had dill seed, so I used about two teaspoons per pint jar. I put two cloves of garlic in each jar. I like the garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Oh my gosh - these are the BEST. I tried a Ball recipe on my first go round and ended up dumping them out. These are perfect! The difference is the white vinegar and less of the pickling spice. I did add 1/8 t. of Ball Pickle Crisp to each pint jar. They are crunchy, tart, delicious. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I don't know how but the were way too sweet and way to sour at the same time. I will NEVER make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I just finished up 20 jars of these delicious pickles. They turned out fantastic! Just the right balance of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
The Best, I added crushed red pepper flakes, 1/2 teaspoon of alum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was my first attempt at pickles, and I was NOT dissapointed! they were so awsome! I threw a couple small pieces of hot pepper in each jar, so they were a tad hot, but in a good way. They would have been great without the peppers too. Most definatly will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
No one needs to add any chemicals or pickle crisp in their pickles. When washing your cucumbers cut the flower end off of it. There is an enzyme in it that will eventually cause your pickles to go soft. Everyone raves over mine and I haven't had a jar of pickles go soft for years even after being in the jar for a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My family and I love these I made them once and had to make them again we add jalapeno peppers to ours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannerbugmitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Awesome Taste Easy to do but I had to triple the brine recipe to do 10 pounds of cucumbers. Either the allrecipe's calculator is out of whack or the recipe isn't quite accurate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States