Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
First time ever making pickles. I too cut off the blossom end. So crunchy and taste great. I added a couple extra cloves and ground ginger to my recipe and strained the liquid into the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
although the flavor is excellent I do not find them crisp at all. Is there another non chemical way to make them like store boughten crisp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe perfectly. I filled 6 quart jars, but only had enough brine mixture for four and 1/2 jars. I packed the cucs tightly. Very disappointed. I don't know what happened as I didn't read this problem in any of the previous comments. If I make them again, I will make a double batch of brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
There's no way this recipe makes 7 quarts. I just made it and there was only enough pickling liquid to fill 3 quarts. It just wouldve been nice if it were accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made 1 1/2 recipes of syrup, and still didn't quite have enough. Maybe I prefer more juice in my jars than most? That was my only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
It was way easy! I can't wait to try them in 3 weeks!!! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Undoubtedly the BEST pickle recipe ever! I got 5 quarts out of my first batch and allowed them to pickle for two weeks. We all loved them so much the 5 quarts did not last 2 weeks! Put up 9 more quarts which will be ready in a week. Also, I used this brine for my pickled green beans. Can hardly wait to taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Le Sueur, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KERYNE
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Good Basic Recipe for pickles. I made this by cutting my cucumbers into spears and cutting the blossom end off. I could not locate fresh dill heads and did not want the little pieces of green on the pickle, so I used dill seed. What I liked about this recipe is the right balance of salt and sweet, the sterilization instructions, and the amount of processing time, and the fact that you can adapt this recipe to your tastes by adding garlic or hot peppers. I did add 1/4 tsp of pickling crisp to each of my quart jars based upon advice from other Canners. I used two tsps of dill seed per jar and added half of a seeded serrano pepper to two of the 4 jars. My daughter is intrigued by the process so I am going back to the farmer's market for more cucumbers. Thanks for sharing a great recipe that takes me down memory lane. UPDATE After 8 wks, we opened a jar and they were delicious. The pickles are crunchy and the taste of the dill, garlic, salt, vinegar, and sugar are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These are great dill pickles. I used 1 tbsp of crushed red pepper instead of pickling spice with some of the pickles and they were really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These pickles are the best! The only recipe I use anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Pickled Grilled Pickles

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States