Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Douglas B. Tomlinson
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
These pickles are fantastic. I just made them and I did one small jar to try immediately. They should be even better after they sit for a while. The only thing is, unless I did something wrong, I don't think this will do seven quart jars. I used the full recipe. I didn't weigh the cucumbers, but I wound up with 3 quarts and a pint packed pretty tight. I barely had enough juice for that. Maybe that should be pints? Did anybody get seven quarts? Anyway they turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I am absolutely delighted with this recipe. It is going to be printed and added to my permanent collection of recipes. I was not able to find pickling spice so I made my own from another recipe on here. I made them exactly like the recipe, and processed them basically the same. My husband and kids also love them. Def the best garlic Dill pickles ever. (Now try them fried, they are AMAZING) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefrickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
it was a easy recipe to use. but after letting them sit I really would not view this as a dill pickle recipe. when we tried them they were really strong after sitting only 8 days and were sweet with a hint of dill. if you are looking for a dill pickle recipe I would not use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Best pickles I've ever made. I like them a little spicy so I added about 3/4 cup jalapeño juice from a can. Crisp, tart with just the perfect heat. Oh, and I just used regular store-bought cucumbers and just cut them into strips, worked great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I found the recipe very easy and they are very good!!! Ate the next day and already tasted fab...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Wow--now these are pickles! Far stronger than any store-bought dill pickles, they have a real kick to them and we often finish off a pint jar in one sitting. The remaining juice is strong enough to make a weaker batch of crispier refrigerator pickles: slice fresh cukes and let sit in the fridge for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
easy recipe with good results. Follow garlic and dill directions closely and consistently
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
i made these this summer because my garlic dill recipe was kind of boring...these sounded like they'd have a little more schmuck. these are THE best garlic dills i've had in awhile. they really have a different flavor that's pleasing to everyone. i've shared a few jars w/ co workers and they rave at how great they turned out. my friend yvonne said they tasted like pickles her mother made, which is THE best compliment ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenney2kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Good recipe but I think the sugar needs to be cut in half. We liked them and ate them all so I this recipe is not bad jut too much sugar for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I don't really care for dill pickles but these are fantastic. I can't keep them around because people take them from me. I also use pickle crisp. This recipe is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States