Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGBis COOL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is my first time making dill pickles and i was very happy with this recipe but next time I will reduce the salt. I trimmed the blossom end as recommended and they stayed very crunchy. I believe the recipe author made a mistake saying the brine will fill 7 quart jars. it makes enough for 7 pint jars. so if you are filling quarts then double the brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
These pickles were fabulous. I used the really small pickling cucumbers because we like whole pickles as opposed to spears. I also used hot and spicy pickling spice, the serano peppers and garlic. These pickles turned out great. Will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is the first time I was successful at making pickles. I am on my third batch. It's important to use the freshest cucumbers possible, as my first batch was shriveled but tasty. Use a scale. I had plenty of brine. Alot depends on the size of the cukes. I also used a pickling spice recipe from this site, which went very well with this recipe. My most recent batch is large but short cucumbers, so hopefully they won't be hollow or too seedy. Please thank your dad for me. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Made this recipe tonight, much to my surprise after making up the pickling liquid, and loading up my 7 quart sized jars with the cukes, there was only enough liquid to top off 4 jars of the pickles. I think the recipe should have 8 cups of water and 8 cups of vinegar, 1.5 cups sugar and 1 cup pickling salt. I made a second batch of the liquid according to the recipe, and processed all my jars. I'm really looking forward to trying these pickles in a week. If they taste as good as the pickling juice smelled I'll be very happy, and make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Very tasty pickles! I added a dried chili in a couple of the jars and they came out great as spicy dills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
These are the best pickles I have ever made!! They are very crisp and have a wonderful flavor! My husband agrees! BEST PICKLES EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Oh, my WORD, these are so good!! I used fresh dill heads from my garden and a clove of garlic per pint, 2 cloves per quart. I put up 7 quarts and 12 pints of spears, and I'm still not sure I made enough, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I LOVE IT! Will make every year! I did use less sugar 1/3 cup and extra garlic and dill ONLY because I like lots of garlic. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States