Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
These are the best pickles I have ever made!! They are very crisp and have a wonderful flavor! My husband agrees! BEST PICKLES EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Oh, my WORD, these are so good!! I used fresh dill heads from my garden and a clove of garlic per pint, 2 cloves per quart. I put up 7 quarts and 12 pints of spears, and I'm still not sure I made enough, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I LOVE IT! Will make every year! I did use less sugar 1/3 cup and extra garlic and dill ONLY because I like lots of garlic. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe to a tee, but ended up having to double the amount of brine, despite having packed the cukes into the jars tightly. After about two weeks, I decided to try them. The smell when I first opened the jar was good, but the taste of the pickles was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These taste like Claussen pickles but are a little bit sweeter. They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Duckworth
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe for three years . The only thing I do different is add the pickling spices to the jar as I never know how much brine to make as I grow my own cucumbers and some days I have 3 and others 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Duckworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Pickle were crisp and tasty but felt they were a little too salty for my taste. Per other reviews cut back on sugar and that may account for the extra saltiness. Maybe sugar is needed to balance that. Next time I will cut back on the pickling salt. I also added pickle crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My teenage daughter and niece loved them! However the boys and I did not. Even after doing the ice bath and cutting the flowering ends my pickles weren't that crispy. Maybe I'm just used to the store bought ones that give a big crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Buckler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Great recipe. no real need to put the pickling spice in cheesecloth. boil it with your mixture and add to the jars as you fill with brine. I cracked a jar open after one day and they are already excellent. I am on my 2nd run today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Zabel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Made 2 batches of these so far--the first one is almost gone! Used only 1/4 cup sugar this time. These are excellent! Until now, I have never had homemade pickles that I liked. I added 1/2 teaspoon turmeric, just because I like the color. I saw someone else suggested that, and I think it works well. It's also supposed to be anti-inflammatory, so how wrong can you go?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States