Poppyseed Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alley
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Hi Everyone - This is my recipe. Onion juice can be found at most grocery stores. You can find it in the spice aisle. DO NOT USE immitation onion juice - it makes a difference. (I've never tried making my own onion juice, but I'll look forward to others that try it and post results - see editor's note.) This recipe makes a lot of dressing. You can refrigerate the left-over dressing for a long time to have on-hand. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I have a recipe similar to this! Mine doesn't use the onion juice and that's what it was missing! So good! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This salad dressing is fantastic! Better than any poppyseed salad dressing I have ever had. Had to go to two stores for the onion juice, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMR
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
WOW..very good dressing, I used a Blendtec blender on the dressing button to make this dressing, and pulsed in the poppy seeds at the end and it came out perfectly emulsified and creamy..I used 1/2 Sugar and 1/2 Splenda..I used it for a slaw recipe of cabbage, carrots and raisins...I can't wait to try on a spinach salad..yum...also followed editors note and made my own onion juice (I pureed 1/2 a med onion in a mini chopper and pressed thru a fine strainer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Served over a spincach/romaine lettuce I tossed with mandarin oranges, small fresh pinapple chunks, blueberries and sliced almonds... DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meemaw
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Really good dressing! It is quite sweet but goes well with all different greens. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
The BEST Poppyseed Salad Dressing EVER! Made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spud
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Yummy, thank you for sharing the recipe. Missed the part about how to make onion juice the first time around so we will try that in the future. We used sesame seeds because I didn't have poppy seeds. It was still nice but I'm sure it tastes fantastic with poppy seeds. Since we've been living in TZ the past 3 years and eating less processed foods, I find I have to cut the sugar in EVERYTHING because our taste buds have changed. This recipe was no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Excellent dressing for mixed greens or spinach with strawberries, glazed pecans and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
It was very tasty! Couldn't find onion juice at the grocery store, so puréed a small onion in a mini food processor and squeezed purée through a small sieve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States