Poppy Seed and Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I thought this turned out really well. Instead of putting into muffin tins, I made it like a cake in a large pan and cut into squares. It was moist and rich (though for some reason didn't rise a whole lot) but that didn't matter. It was perfect in little squares. It's not sweet.. just right and would make a nice thing for guests. Not being a banana lover, it didn't 'reek' of bananas.. it was just right! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very Good! I've used 1/3 cup sugar instead of the honey, and added some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Excellent! Crunchy on the top, moist in the middle. The combination of banana, poppy seeds, and honey is wonderful. Keep an eye on these if you have a fan-forced oven and Teflon bakeware, though. Even if you don't use the fan-bake setting, these muffins will probably be done in under 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
These muffins are absolutely delicious. If you are a fan of very sweet, cake-like muffins, this recipe is definitely not for you. These muffins have a very heavy bran taste and are only slightly sweet from the bananas and honey. If I serve these to guests, I'll probably add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I only tried this recipe because I had some surplus wheat germ lying around and was looking for a way to use it up. And now I think I will never make any other kind of banana muffins again. These are just the best that I have ever tasted. I was actually worried that they might be too healthy - after all they are almost fat-free and very lightly sweetened with honey. But they don't taste like low-calorie muffins (and in fact, they aren't any lower in calories than regular muffins, though I'm sure they are healthier). I suppose they might not appeal to everyone, but if you're the type of person that likes bran muffins, try these - you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I've made these muffins a few times. They always turn out good (also very healthy). I recently made them using chocolate chips instead of the poppyseeds. They were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These muffins were so light and delicious. I will definatley be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perranporth, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Lanzarote, Canarias, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
really tasty! i would use a little bit more banana just to bring out that flavor. on a side note, i could not find wheat bran ANYWHERE, so i ended up buying wheat bran cereal and crushing it up. it worked okay. probably would be even better if i could find the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great muffin. I added vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg as someone else suggested. I will definetly make them again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
These are an excellent way to start off your day. I am going to make these again and maybe add some blueberries too. This is not a sweet muffin (if that is what you are looking for), but it is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States