Poppy Seed and Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Excellent. I opted to go half whole wheat, half white flour -- based on reviews complaining of dry texture. Buttermilk was used in place of milk and lemon juice. I was low on poppyseeds so used 1/6 cup instead, which I thought was perfect. Keep an eye on your oven, my batch baked in 15 minutes. I was surprised how moist these were. and just the perfect amount of sweetness. These were great with a little pat of butter on top. The recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Very good. I added vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Made them a bit sweeter and had great flavor. Next time I think I'll add some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I thought this turned out really well. Instead of putting into muffin tins, I made it like a cake in a large pan and cut into squares. It was moist and rich (though for some reason didn't rise a whole lot) but that didn't matter. It was perfect in little squares. It's not sweet.. just right and would make a nice thing for guests. Not being a banana lover, it didn't 'reek' of bananas.. it was just right! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I like these muffins for healthy non-sweet breakfast. I used ground flax seed instead of wheat germ, maple syrup instead of honey just because I didn't have wheat germ and honey on hand. I added 1 tsp of vanilla. It turned out very good! It is not as moist as I expected but it's still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I only tried this recipe because I had some surplus wheat germ lying around and was looking for a way to use it up. And now I think I will never make any other kind of banana muffins again. These are just the best that I have ever tasted. I was actually worried that they might be too healthy - after all they are almost fat-free and very lightly sweetened with honey. But they don't taste like low-calorie muffins (and in fact, they aren't any lower in calories than regular muffins, though I'm sure they are healthier). I suppose they might not appeal to everyone, but if you're the type of person that likes bran muffins, try these - you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
The recipe, AS-IS, is very moist, but completely lacking in sweetness or flavor. You can do without one if you have the other... but to have neither? I'm a person who digs the healthy hearty muffins, but this was no good. I should have paid more attention - so many positive ratings were to MODIFIED recipes. We'll smear these in cream cheese and honey and eat the dozen, but I'll never make these AS-IS again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
These are an excellent way to start off your day. I am going to make these again and maybe add some blueberries too. This is not a sweet muffin (if that is what you are looking for), but it is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
These were good, but not fabulous. They were good enough to try again with alterations. Next time I would either reduce the oil or use vegan butter instead. Also, I would definitely add something to make them a touch sweeter, maybe just more honey or banana. Finally, I felt as though the recipe called for too many poppy seeds, I would use half that next time. Thanks for the submission, every recipe needs individual tweeking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
These muffins are absolutely delicious. If you are a fan of very sweet, cake-like muffins, this recipe is definitely not for you. These muffins have a very heavy bran taste and are only slightly sweet from the bananas and honey. If I serve these to guests, I'll probably add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Smell wonderful, look wonderful...taste great! Love how healthy these muffins are! I used maple syrup in place of honey (didn't have any honey) and bulgur wheat in place of wheat germ. I doubled the recipe but only used 1/3 cup poppy seeds per reviews. Mine came out a little dry--I baked for 25 min. but will check at 20 next time. I also added raisins for a little extra sweetness and sprinkled tops with cinnamon/sugar mixture before baking. YUM! And..healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States