Poppy Seed and Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I thought this turned out really well. Instead of putting into muffin tins, I made it like a cake in a large pan and cut into squares. It was moist and rich (though for some reason didn't rise a whole lot) but that didn't matter. It was perfect in little squares. It's not sweet.. just right and would make a nice thing for guests. Not being a banana lover, it didn't 'reek' of bananas.. it was just right! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very Good! I've used 1/3 cup sugar instead of the honey, and added some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
A nice change from bran muffins. I liked the crunch of the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Excellent! Crunchy on the top, moist in the middle. The combination of banana, poppy seeds, and honey is wonderful. Keep an eye on these if you have a fan-forced oven and Teflon bakeware, though. Even if you don't use the fan-bake setting, these muffins will probably be done in under 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
These muffins are absolutely delicious. If you are a fan of very sweet, cake-like muffins, this recipe is definitely not for you. These muffins have a very heavy bran taste and are only slightly sweet from the bananas and honey. If I serve these to guests, I'll probably add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Very good. I added vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Made them a bit sweeter and had great flavor. Next time I think I'll add some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
These were good, but not fabulous. They were good enough to try again with alterations. Next time I would either reduce the oil or use vegan butter instead. Also, I would definitely add something to make them a touch sweeter, maybe just more honey or banana. Finally, I felt as though the recipe called for too many poppy seeds, I would use half that next time. Thanks for the submission, every recipe needs individual tweeking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I only tried this recipe because I had some surplus wheat germ lying around and was looking for a way to use it up. And now I think I will never make any other kind of banana muffins again. These are just the best that I have ever tasted. I was actually worried that they might be too healthy - after all they are almost fat-free and very lightly sweetened with honey. But they don't taste like low-calorie muffins (and in fact, they aren't any lower in calories than regular muffins, though I'm sure they are healthier). I suppose they might not appeal to everyone, but if you're the type of person that likes bran muffins, try these - you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Great recipe, but way too many poppy seeds. I will definitely make this again, but will cut the poppy seeds in half and add a little more sugar and/or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I've made these muffins a few times. They always turn out good (also very healthy). I recently made them using chocolate chips instead of the poppyseeds. They were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States