Poppy Seed Poultry Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I had to make a couple of changes, and I'm glad I did, or this dish would be very bland. First, I boiled the chicken for about 15 minutes, the cut it into huge chunks and threw it into a hand blender. It made it into small shreds, but a nice uniform size, and took a lot less time than hand shredding the chicken - I'm not a fan of chunks. At the same time I put basmati rice into a rice cooker so both the chicken and rice were done at the same time. Then I used half a can of cream of chicken and half a can of cream of mushrooms, added a cup of mushrooms and a cup of chopped celery (which i sauteed while the rice and chicken were cooking) an extra 2 tablespoons of dill (I love the stuff) and 2 tablespoons of minced garlic. Also, this recipe needs about 1/2 cup of milk and some major salt and peppering. This recipe is really growing on me. The more I eat it the more I really like it. Even though the Ritz crackers heat up mushy in the microwave, it adds so much flavor I'm contemplating adding more. Plus I ate this at my desk today, and someone followed me back to my desk, by the SMELL!!!! Good stuff, thanks. Great make ahead and freeze or save for the rest of the week-type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This was really really good. I've never cooked with poppy seeds and only ever used dill of dip -- thanks for opening my eyes!!! I did use 1 soup can full of milk on the suggestion of other's reviews as well as about 1/2c chopped onion. Oh! and the topping I used garlic butter flavored Ritz crackers and my hubby who IS NOT a casserole type of guy loved it and actually ASKED for the leftovers the next day. This reheated wonderfully!!! Thanks so much so sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
We just had this recipe last night, we loved it! It was great comfort food. I did add 1/2 cup milk like some of the other reviewers did, and more dill. But I added a tbs of lemon juice to bring out the flavor more. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was one of the best casserole recipes I've ever made! I made this for my Bunco group and I'm always trying to find something different that will appeal to twelve different ladies. I did add one soup can of milk, some extra dill, and some chopped onion and celery and sliced mushrooms and a little garlic. I also made this up the night before, and refrigerated, then put on toppings and popped it in the oven (I needed one hour at 350 but also made a larger recipe). The flavor of the poppyseed, dill and the topping was so unique and delicious. This one goes in my permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Here's what I did different I sauted 4 small zucchini, 1/2 lb. Crimini mushrooms, 1/2 med yellow onion in butter with garlic powder and salt to taste. Substituted cream of mushroom soup then mixed everything together. My family loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
a wonderful generic chicken casserole dish, this can be played with so many ways. For example, add 3 tablespoons of lemon juice and both sour cream and cream cheese. I also have added sautee'd peppers and onion with garlic. Peas are a nice addition to the rice, or once set up and ready for the oven, I lay out broccolli spears and whole skinned tomatos to give it a color contrast. I use this as one of my buffett dishes. BTW, use the water you boiled the chicken in for your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saddle River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I was looking for a new way to inflict leftover turkey on my family when I found this one...it was very nice. I added some extra dill, but that was the only change I made. We all enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Adding the dill works wonders (it's left out in other recipes). I make it a little healthier by using fat free sour cream, 98% fat free crm chicken, reduced-fat Ritz, and 1/4c light butter. Tastes almost as good as the real deal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I can't say enough good things about this dish--we LOVE it!!! Definitely add some milk (I added 3/4 of a soup can). I boiled 1.5 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts in a 3 qt pot of water with 3 chicken bouillon cubes, some garlic powder, paprika, cayenne pepper, and seasoning salt until tender for about 1 hour (bring to boil and reduce heat to med-high). When chicken was done, I drained broth and shredded using two forks---it's so tender this way!!!! Used basmati rice and cooked while chicken was cooking. Added extra dill, and seasoned with seasoning salt and pepper to suit our tastes. Used extra Ritz on top--they're so yummy! Also, sauteed some celery and onion in olive oil and added to the mixture. PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I found this recipe to be exceptionally dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States