Poppy Seed Poultry Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
It was edible. Not much flavor at all, I added pepper, broccoli, garlic and parmesan shredded cheese. I will not make this again unless altering it completely therefore it would not be the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Very good stuff. It was such a nice change. I loved the dill. Next time I will try fresh dill. My kids did not care for it, but I will make it many more times. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
My family and I found this to be very bland. I couldn't get any of my three kids to continue eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
We just had this recipe last night, we loved it! It was great comfort food. I did add 1/2 cup milk like some of the other reviewers did, and more dill. But I added a tbs of lemon juice to bring out the flavor more. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Great casserole, THANKS!!! I do like to spice things up, so I added some red pepper, garlic salt, paprika, and cut back on the dill. I used low fat sour cream and cream of chicken soup. Next time, I'll add a half a can more of the soup instead of the extra milk for more flavour. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This was not popular even with onion and extra seasoning. My husband said he really didn't care for it, and he graciously praises almost every meal I cook. My teenage son ate it without complaint. My teenage daughter complained (not unusual). My 5 year old who is a good eater didn't care for it. I ate it, but I didn't want anything to do with the leftovers nor did anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I made this for the second time last night and I have to say that both my husband and I enjoyed it quite a bit. I used reduced-fat sour cream, 1/3 cup of butter, low-sodium reduced-fat cream of chicken, 2/3 cup milk, and a little garlic powder. I think that I will use a little more garlic and dill next time because it is still a touch bland to me. I ate the leftovers for lunch today, and they were just as good, if not better, than the casserole was last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I had to make a couple of changes, and I'm glad I did, or this dish would be very bland. First, I boiled the chicken for about 15 minutes, the cut it into huge chunks and threw it into a hand blender. It made it into small shreds, but a nice uniform size, and took a lot less time than hand shredding the chicken - I'm not a fan of chunks. At the same time I put basmati rice into a rice cooker so both the chicken and rice were done at the same time. Then I used half a can of cream of chicken and half a can of cream of mushrooms, added a cup of mushrooms and a cup of chopped celery (which i sauteed while the rice and chicken were cooking) an extra 2 tablespoons of dill (I love the stuff) and 2 tablespoons of minced garlic. Also, this recipe needs about 1/2 cup of milk and some major salt and peppering. This recipe is really growing on me. The more I eat it the more I really like it. Even though the Ritz crackers heat up mushy in the microwave, it adds so much flavor I'm contemplating adding more. Plus I ate this at my desk today, and someone followed me back to my desk, by the SMELL!!!! Good stuff, thanks. Great make ahead and freeze or save for the rest of the week-type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Didn't go over well in my house. It might be good with crab meat instead of turkey but the combination didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Quite nice. I added lots of mushrooms, corn, red pepper and red onion. Also, I added garlic and extra dill to give it more flavour. I also used one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of cream of chicken with some extra milk. We use brown rice as thats all we eat. Turned out great. I will make again maybe next time with even more veggies! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States