Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and the muffins were quite yummy. I ended up with 4 dozen (48) mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is the first recipe on this website that has dissapointed me. I thought it was strange that this recipe suggests you mix the wet ingredients and then add the dry ingredients, since I always do it the opposite way. Maybe they meant to mix the wet in one bowl and the dry in a second bowl and then mix the wet into the dry (which is the way I'd normally make muffins). In any case I think the baking powder started to activate too soon because these muffins never really rised. The batter also looked excessively wet and oily. For my second batch I tried adding more flour and baking powder, but I think it was not salvageable. I do like the addition of almond extract, so I may try the recipe again but I'd significantly decrease the vegetable oil and milk, and mix the ingredients the way I would normally do, not the way the recipe implies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I made it exactly and it does not turn out good. It is too sweet and it does not come out right. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I've never made the glaze for these muffins, they don't need it! I use 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar, 1 cup of oil, 2 tsp. baking powder, 2 Tbs. poppy seeds, 1 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
So delicious! I've made these with and without the glaze and they were great either way. Now I leave it off to save on calories. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Easy, moist, delicious....thanks for sharing. The glaze is awesome on them but they were just as good without it. I ended up with 20 regular size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Great recipe! Loved the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jobeth9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These are oily, greasy, dense almond poppyseed cakes. They do not resemble muffins at all. There is way too much oil. They were sunken in the middle instead of rounded out. I make muffins every week and was looking forward to trying this recipe but I can say that I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The texture of these "muffins" was very strange. My husband said that they were gritty, and I agree. They were also very oily. It just seemed like the ingredients didn't incorporate well together. They also turned out more like cupcakes than muffins. The ONLY reason I gave these 2 stars is that my husband said they had good flavor (but I used lemon extract instead of almond).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
these muffins were a disaster - it might have been the high altitude. But, I still had to throw them all away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States