Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good. The recipe made more than my poor small muffin tin could keep up with so poured the rest of the batter into a bread pan to bake. The muffins were really good (family thinks so too!) My batter seemed pretty thin/runny so I added about another 1/2-1 C flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
great recipe!! every poppy seed recipe is accompanied with lemon, but this recipe is pure and delicious! next time i'll probably add more poppy seed though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I wasn't that impressed. The inner consistency was a bit rubbery almost as if they hadn't baked quite right. I may have overmixed the batter, but I won't be using the batter recipe again. On the other hand, the glaze is AMAZING! I'm sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
i added a T of lemon extract to the batter a 1/2 a tsp to the glaze and really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and the muffins were quite yummy. I ended up with 4 dozen (48) mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is the first recipe on this website that has dissapointed me. I thought it was strange that this recipe suggests you mix the wet ingredients and then add the dry ingredients, since I always do it the opposite way. Maybe they meant to mix the wet in one bowl and the dry in a second bowl and then mix the wet into the dry (which is the way I'd normally make muffins). In any case I think the baking powder started to activate too soon because these muffins never really rised. The batter also looked excessively wet and oily. For my second batch I tried adding more flour and baking powder, but I think it was not salvageable. I do like the addition of almond extract, so I may try the recipe again but I'd significantly decrease the vegetable oil and milk, and mix the ingredients the way I would normally do, not the way the recipe implies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I made it exactly and it does not turn out good. It is too sweet and it does not come out right. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I've never made the glaze for these muffins, they don't need it! I use 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar, 1 cup of oil, 2 tsp. baking powder, 2 Tbs. poppy seeds, 1 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
So delicious! I've made these with and without the glaze and they were great either way. Now I leave it off to save on calories. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Easy, moist, delicious....thanks for sharing. The glaze is awesome on them but they were just as good without it. I ended up with 20 regular size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States