Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
turned out fantastic,, thank you for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSiguaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I used 2 tsp of vanilla and it turned out fantastic. I didn't have any paper liners so I just lined it with aerosol canola oil. The recipe is amazing and within one day my family ate the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Just finished baking these muffins. They are so sweet they are disgusting. I was hoping to take them to a baby shower but will now have to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Perfect flavor and texture! If you are using a normal muffin tin (not jumbo) there will be enough batter to make a dozen plus a loaf. In lieu of the glaze, I created a simple streusel topping with 1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/3 cup flour. I placed half of it on the loaf with about 25 minutes left to cook - might add more poppy seeds to the batter next time. The muffins don't need anything added, if you ask me. The crust is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I made them lemony--I doubled the recipe and added the rind of 2 lemons, and used lemon extract where it says to use almond. I also used fresh lemon juice instead of orange for the glze. These made great Welcome muffins for new neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These are great. They are quite rich-a good treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
these are excellent! my picky kids ate them all and fought over the last one! my husband loved them as well and he usually doesn't like poppy seed muffins. the glaze is great, and i definitely would be making these again and again. i have made these many times and the loave with fresh lemon juice used in the glaze instead of orange is by far my favorite, though all versions are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These were quite good. Based on the other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1-1/4 cups - and they turned out slightly sweet as I like them. I also increased the poppy seeds to 2 t instead of 1-1/2 t. I did not do the glaze as I don't want these to be too sweet. They are yummy without it, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I agree with others in that this recipe didn't turn out for me. They were really greasy and flat and never quite cooked. I kept them in longer than it called for, but they were just flat and gooey. Very disappointed. However, I used the glaze on a different recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
These were pretty darn tasty. I don't really think the topping really helped all that much. I agree with other reviewers that the batter should be super lumpy when baked. it should look like you have marbles in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love_everyday264

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States