Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Oh these are VERY nice muffins and cake. The recipe makes WAY more than it tells you it does, you can easily cut it in half. However, I found that the muffins were done well before the tops were browned, so I took them out, disregarding the instructions to wait. They were so fluffy and moist, but yes- they were done. You do not have to wait for them to brown on top, just do a toothpick test. They are on the sweet side, especially when they're fully cooled, but that's okay with me. I didn't even bother with the glaze. Maybe next time I'll use half the sugar and do the glaze. As for mixing, I had no problems mixing it for quite some time. Not a single one. Of course I was mixing by hand, not with an electric beater, which I recommend. That way you'll *want* to stop as soon as it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This recipe made 20 muffins, not 12. I decreased the sugar & the oil based on other reviews. I also added 2 drops of yellow food coloring since others said the muffins were "pale". They looked great & tasted good. DEFINITELY use the paper liners for your muffin pan. Otherwise they WILL stick, even if you grease it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very good recipe! I toped mine with almonds like the ones in the picture and I thought is made them delicious and very appealing. Also, used about 1/4 cup whole wheat in place of some white flour. At least they are a little healthier ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLYNNSMITH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Yum! I love the glaze. I have been wanting to make poppy seed muffins because I have a whole jar after making some Poppy Seed Chicken and needed to use them. I have never made homemade muffins and the first time I did BAM! Now I know these are really bad for me and I am not ashamed to hand out my very first batch to co-workers and friends because there is really nothing to improve on. The only thing I did different was sift the flour and then I added some poppy seeds onto the top of the glaze for decorations. Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganSoriano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Love this recipe! Followed it exactly and everything was perfect! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haynay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
These are not muffins, they are very cake like. Way too much sugar, they wouldn't come out of the pans. On the upside they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
My daughter has been begging for poppy seed muffins from the store - decided to try my own, assuming they would be a bit healthier. I used 1 1/4 cup of sugar - still WAY too sweet. Used half of the oil. They still turned out heavy and pale - they didn't brown at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
wow!! I just made these and they turned out wonderful and very tasty! The Glaze topped it all off!! I followed the directions exactly and it did not turn out oily or dense as some of the other reviewers stated. I did cut back on the surgar as other reviewer suggested by a cup and it still came out sweet. Maybe next time Ill add only one cup of sugar instead since the glaze is already sweet. I will definitely make this again, thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
turned out fantastic,, thank you for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSiguaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States