Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
My daughter has been begging for poppy seed muffins from the store - decided to try my own, assuming they would be a bit healthier. I used 1 1/4 cup of sugar - still WAY too sweet. Used half of the oil. They still turned out heavy and pale - they didn't brown at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
wow!! I just made these and they turned out wonderful and very tasty! The Glaze topped it all off!! I followed the directions exactly and it did not turn out oily or dense as some of the other reviewers stated. I did cut back on the surgar as other reviewer suggested by a cup and it still came out sweet. Maybe next time Ill add only one cup of sugar instead since the glaze is already sweet. I will definitely make this again, thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
turned out fantastic,, thank you for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSiguaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I used 2 tsp of vanilla and it turned out fantastic. I didn't have any paper liners so I just lined it with aerosol canola oil. The recipe is amazing and within one day my family ate the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Just finished baking these muffins. They are so sweet they are disgusting. I was hoping to take them to a baby shower but will now have to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Perfect flavor and texture! If you are using a normal muffin tin (not jumbo) there will be enough batter to make a dozen plus a loaf. In lieu of the glaze, I created a simple streusel topping with 1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/3 cup flour. I placed half of it on the loaf with about 25 minutes left to cook - might add more poppy seeds to the batter next time. The muffins don't need anything added, if you ask me. The crust is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I made them lemony--I doubled the recipe and added the rind of 2 lemons, and used lemon extract where it says to use almond. I also used fresh lemon juice instead of orange for the glze. These made great Welcome muffins for new neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These are great. They are quite rich-a good treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
these are excellent! my picky kids ate them all and fought over the last one! my husband loved them as well and he usually doesn't like poppy seed muffins. the glaze is great, and i definitely would be making these again and again. i have made these many times and the loave with fresh lemon juice used in the glaze instead of orange is by far my favorite, though all versions are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These were quite good. Based on the other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1-1/4 cups - and they turned out slightly sweet as I like them. I also increased the poppy seeds to 2 t instead of 1-1/2 t. I did not do the glaze as I don't want these to be too sweet. They are yummy without it, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States