Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe was FAR to sweet. I did notice that other cooks said that they changed the sugar amount, but I wanted to make them as is to see what I thought. They formed a crystallized "crust" on the outside. They had good flavor, but I definitely want to play with the sugar to get a lesser amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is a yummy recipe. I've made it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe to the letter. The second time, I added an extra tsp of poppy seeds and used 2 tsp of lemon juice instead of almond extract. I preferred the lemon version, but my wife preferred the almond version. Again, both were great! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made these the original way but substitued Lemon flavoring for the vanilla. I didn't add the glaze as I thought they were a little on the sweet side. I'll cut down on the sugar next time I make them. They still did not have enough of a lemon flavor so will adjust that also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These are wonderful muffins! I did change the recipe though, just to use up what we had in the house, but I omitted the almonds and almond extract, and instead grated 4 very small apples into the batter. The muffins were moist and tender, sweet and delicious! I am really looking forward to making them again, the way the recipe reads! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe is for the muffin part; I did not make the icing. These muffins are extremely tasty. They are not precisely muffins, more like small cakes. (There is a textural difference between muffins and cakes.) I used lemon extract and lemon juice to boost the lemony-ness since I didn't make the icing. When they came out of the oven, I rubbed the tops with a stick of butter and then before it dried, sprinkled with turbinado sugar. I don't know if that's how the bakeries get that sugar to stick or not, but it works for me (and who doesn't like a little butter on their muffins?) Halving this recipe made 17 regular-sized muffins and the topping I made used up 1 TB butter and 2 packets of Sugar in the Raw (in case anyone else is too lazy to make the glaze!) The only thing that disappointed me about this recipe was that the ones from the bakery are a deep roasted-turkey-skin shade of brown, inside and out, and I don't know how that's achieved -- these are pale whitish-gold. That's not a problem with the recipe, I just need to figure out how that color is achieved :) Thanks for sharing, these were delicious with a glass of milk and a mug of morning coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIBEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These are way too sweet, and I didn't even make the icing. I would prefer a muffin that actually browned on the top instead of this pale yellow color. Just really didn't like the taste of these. I will keep looking for a better recipe. If you are going to make these I recommend making them like regular muffins; combine the wet ingredients and the dry ingredients separately and then combine them while mixing for as short a time as possible. I don't like the way the instructions are written. Also definitely fill the muffin cups all the way up or else your muffins will be flat topped instead of domed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The glaze is absolutely fantastic! Love that it has almond extract. If I'm in a pinch, I will use the Krusteaz mix with this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Like someone else said, these are super heavy! And the flavor is not very good. The almond taste is overpowering. I was super disappointed with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
HINTS INCLUDED FOR POPPY SEEDS AND MUFFIN PAPERS. This is the first muffin recipe that has EVER given me 'mounded', cute looking muffins! Thank you, Liz R, for sharing! The taste and texture are amazing. This recipe is the most like Costco's muffins that I've found. I, too, did what another reviewer did. Mixed the wet and dry ingredients separately, then folded the dry into the wet. This made 24 of the medium sized muffins (aka 2" x 1 1/4"). I found no need for the glaze, though next time I will put more poppy seeds into the mix. If you have trouble with those nasty store bought muffin papers that are so splayed out that they won't stay in the muffin tins, Reynolds has boxes of 500 (in several sizes) for around $4 at the store known by different names in different areas: Cash and Carry, United Grocer's or Smart and Final. Though not a retailer, if you spend cash you can generally purchase what you need there, no business license required. Also, poppy seeds have enough oil that they go rancid quickly if on the store shelf or home shelf too long. Do the 'sniff' test before baking with them. They should smell earthy, but not 'icky'. If there is a smell that is not good, it won't bake out but will make your food taste nasty. Store fresh seeds in one zip freezer bag nested into a 2nd bag and freeze between uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Harriet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States