Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIBEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These are way too sweet, and I didn't even make the icing. I would prefer a muffin that actually browned on the top instead of this pale yellow color. Just really didn't like the taste of these. I will keep looking for a better recipe. If you are going to make these I recommend making them like regular muffins; combine the wet ingredients and the dry ingredients separately and then combine them while mixing for as short a time as possible. I don't like the way the instructions are written. Also definitely fill the muffin cups all the way up or else your muffins will be flat topped instead of domed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The glaze is absolutely fantastic! Love that it has almond extract. If I'm in a pinch, I will use the Krusteaz mix with this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Like someone else said, these are super heavy! And the flavor is not very good. The almond taste is overpowering. I was super disappointed with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
HINTS INCLUDED FOR POPPY SEEDS AND MUFFIN PAPERS. This is the first muffin recipe that has EVER given me 'mounded', cute looking muffins! Thank you, Liz R, for sharing! The taste and texture are amazing. This recipe is the most like Costco's muffins that I've found. I, too, did what another reviewer did. Mixed the wet and dry ingredients separately, then folded the dry into the wet. This made 24 of the medium sized muffins (aka 2" x 1 1/4"). I found no need for the glaze, though next time I will put more poppy seeds into the mix. If you have trouble with those nasty store bought muffin papers that are so splayed out that they won't stay in the muffin tins, Reynolds has boxes of 500 (in several sizes) for around $4 at the store known by different names in different areas: Cash and Carry, United Grocer's or Smart and Final. Though not a retailer, if you spend cash you can generally purchase what you need there, no business license required. Also, poppy seeds have enough oil that they go rancid quickly if on the store shelf or home shelf too long. Do the 'sniff' test before baking with them. They should smell earthy, but not 'icky'. If there is a smell that is not good, it won't bake out but will make your food taste nasty. Store fresh seeds in one zip freezer bag nested into a 2nd bag and freeze between uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Harriet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
The muffin itself was greasy even with half applesauce and half oil. I tried to be gentle with the batter and leave some lumps but the bottoms of these muffins were still tough. I put the glaze on right out of the oven and the sugar was still gritty. I'll keep looking for my poppy seed muffin recipe this is not it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jona Dogg
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I love, love, love this recipe! These are one of the most delicious muffins I've ever tasted. I've never made the glazing though, I think they are too good to add something more to them. And I recommend to use larger muffin forms instead of small ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jona Dogg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These muffins are very sweet! I find them to be more like a cupcake than a muffin. I followed the recipe (without the glaze) exactly and they turned out fine. They do not rise very much and they do not brown. Like other reviewer, I used the toothpick test to tell when they were done. Next time I make them I will cut back on sugar and oil and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
glaze is the best part. Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States