Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I did what some of the reviews suggested. I mixed the dry ingredients separate and folded them into the wet ingredients. The batter was very very lumpy but it worked. I doubled the recipe and got 48 regular muffins and 24 mini muffins out of the double batch. (It was for a school project) I baked them for 18 minutes and it turned out wonderful. The glaze made the difference between a good muffin and an excellent muffin. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulofgrace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I love this recipe! I added more poppy seeds- 3Tbsp. in all, and I subbed honey for the sugar which I always do. I only used 1 3/4 Cups of honey per some reviewers suggestions. This is a great recipe and my 12 year old son said they were better than the Beans and Brews poppy seed muffins we get down the street.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I read these reviews carefully before I began and altered the recipe accordingly. They weren't too sweet or too oily. They turned out perfect! Here's what I did: I used 3 eggs, 1/8 C. Vegetable Oil, 1 C. Apple Sauce, 1 1/2 C. Milk, 1 1/2 Tsp. Vanilla Extract, 1 1/2 Tsp. Almond Extract, 1 1/2 C. White Sugar, 1 1/2 Tsp. Salt, 1 1/2 Tsp. Baking Powder, 1 1/2 Tbsp. Poppy Seeds, 3 C. All-Purpose Flour. I mixed the glaze and had it on the stove before I made the Muffins. I mixed together eggs, apple sauce, vegetable oil, milk, vanilla, and almond. In separate bowl, I mixed together sugar, salt, baking powder, poppy seeds, and flour. Fold wet ingredients into dry. Don't mix too much. Batter should be lumpy. Grease pan thoroughly (no paper). Fill almost full. In a Regular Cupcake Pan: Bake at 350 F for 30-35 min. or until toothpick comes out clean. (Best indicator is when the tops finally look dry) - Makes 14-16 Remove muffins as soon as you can from pans while still warm/hot and dunk tops into glaze. Turn right side up and cool on a cookie rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Love this recipe - i always make 3 small loaves and I never have poppy seeds... But they turn out great every time. I am sure to do the 'muffin method' in mixing instead of following the instructions. I mix all the wet ingredients then the dry ingredients in different bowls and put them together at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made a HUGE batch of these muffins for an Easter breakfast at our church and everyone loved them. I followed the advice of using half applesauce and half oil and the texture and flavor was still very good. Mixing muffin batter is tricky...over-mixing is bad but I erred on the side of caution and left a few lumps which resulted in some of the muffins having pockets of flours baked right in. Oh well...next time, I'll probably make a smaller batch. The flavor is awesome and the glaze is delicious! I might try lemon extract next time instead of almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Emig
Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe was FAR to sweet. I did notice that other cooks said that they changed the sugar amount, but I wanted to make them as is to see what I thought. They formed a crystallized "crust" on the outside. They had good flavor, but I definitely want to play with the sugar to get a lesser amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is a yummy recipe. I've made it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe to the letter. The second time, I added an extra tsp of poppy seeds and used 2 tsp of lemon juice instead of almond extract. I preferred the lemon version, but my wife preferred the almond version. Again, both were great! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made these the original way but substitued Lemon flavoring for the vanilla. I didn't add the glaze as I thought they were a little on the sweet side. I'll cut down on the sugar next time I make them. They still did not have enough of a lemon flavor so will adjust that also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These are wonderful muffins! I did change the recipe though, just to use up what we had in the house, but I omitted the almonds and almond extract, and instead grated 4 very small apples into the batter. The muffins were moist and tender, sweet and delicious! I am really looking forward to making them again, the way the recipe reads! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe is for the muffin part; I did not make the icing. These muffins are extremely tasty. They are not precisely muffins, more like small cakes. (There is a textural difference between muffins and cakes.) I used lemon extract and lemon juice to boost the lemony-ness since I didn't make the icing. When they came out of the oven, I rubbed the tops with a stick of butter and then before it dried, sprinkled with turbinado sugar. I don't know if that's how the bakeries get that sugar to stick or not, but it works for me (and who doesn't like a little butter on their muffins?) Halving this recipe made 17 regular-sized muffins and the topping I made used up 1 TB butter and 2 packets of Sugar in the Raw (in case anyone else is too lazy to make the glaze!) The only thing that disappointed me about this recipe was that the ones from the bakery are a deep roasted-turkey-skin shade of brown, inside and out, and I don't know how that's achieved -- these are pale whitish-gold. That's not a problem with the recipe, I just need to figure out how that color is achieved :) Thanks for sharing, these were delicious with a glass of milk and a mug of morning coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States