Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
These were absolutely amazing! I made sure not to mix them too much. My only problem was that the recipe made way more than 12 regular muffins - I may have been able to make 18-24. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love poppy seed muffins and this recipe was no exception. Thanks to the previous reviewers, I decreased sugar to about 1 3/4 cup. They were still VERY sweet; next time I'll cut it back to 1 1/2 cups. I was out of orange juice, and used apple juice instead and didn't notice a difference from usual. My kids LOVED these. For me, the batch yielded 24 'regular' sized muffins and they baked for 17 minutes a batch. Like others have said, the glaze truly is 'the icing on the cake.' The flavor is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These are excellent. The recipe made more than a dozen muffins. I skipped the galze and sprinkled sliced almonds on top before baking. Me and my husband ate the first dozen before the second had finished baking. I wish I had tried these while I had company in town for the hoildays, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was the first muffin recipe that attempted to prepare. I wanted a recipe that included poppy seeds in it. The main problem was when the muffins were finally baked through some still came out rubbery while others were normal. In addition, the recipe was a tad too sweet for my taste - I will omit the glaze next time around. Some of my co-workers loved them & others thought they were too sweet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Excellent! Our kids love these. I do not use the glaze at all and they are so moist and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This has been a Family Favorite recipe for the last 8 years. follow this recipe exactly how it is. it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I have made these twice now. Followed the recipe exactly. So delicious. My family asks me every weekend to make them. Next time I think I will try half the oil and half applesauce so I don't feel quite so guilty! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was just okay. The glaze is what made them. Probably would not make again. Weren't terrible, but weren't the best to our family either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
These hardly rose at all, owing, I suspect to the large amount of sugar in this recipe. I'm not sure I would even call these muffins....more like REALLY sweet cupcakes. I like sweet muffins, but even I could hardly eat these for breakfast. The almond flavor was good, but masked by too much sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Wonderful! The glaze really is the proverbial icing on the cake. Please try these muffins, you will not be disappointed. So light and fluffy,I had 36 regular size from this batch! These were like fresh out of the oven the next morning for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States