Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Very tasty and not messy at all if you brush the glaze on with a pastry brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These muffins are absolutely fabulous. They are basically poppy seed pound cake. You'll want to come back for more and more. My sister made these for her boyfriend and i luckily got to taste them. Right when i put them in my mouth i knew i would be making these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilhippo21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very good!! I used the glaze, it wasnt messy at all. The only thing that I changed was that I didn't have any orange juice so I used apple juice. Turend out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
These muffins are delicious! I didn't add the glaze, because they are plenty sweet on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Delish! It made 24 muffins with a little left over. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The first time I baked these, I thought the amount of baking powder was insufficient (half of required) but made them as stated anyway. As I thought, the muffins were too dense. The second time around I increased to one tablespoon, decreased sugar to 2 cups and left out 1 tablespoon oil (and increased almond extract to 1 T--I like a lot of almond flavor, but this may be too much for some). The results with these changes were great; they were much lighter in texture. I also substituted 1 cup cake flour for 1 cup AP flour, or one could just use all pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
My family loves this recipe! Initially we ate them right out of the oven without the glaze. They were good, but once I added the glaze, everyone was swooning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I made these for my oldest daughters brithday breakfast and she and her guests loved them. So did my husband. I made them with 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 sugar. They were really good and we make them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
These were absolutely amazing! I made sure not to mix them too much. My only problem was that the recipe made way more than 12 regular muffins - I may have been able to make 18-24. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love poppy seed muffins and this recipe was no exception. Thanks to the previous reviewers, I decreased sugar to about 1 3/4 cup. They were still VERY sweet; next time I'll cut it back to 1 1/2 cups. I was out of orange juice, and used apple juice instead and didn't notice a difference from usual. My kids LOVED these. For me, the batch yielded 24 'regular' sized muffins and they baked for 17 minutes a batch. Like others have said, the glaze truly is 'the icing on the cake.' The flavor is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States