Poppy Seed Hungarian Style Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These cookies were awesome! Very delicious! The only problem I had with them was that they came out very flat and ended up spreading out a lot, so make sure you take smaller spoonfuls and leave space in between cookies. Also, if you warm up some maple syrup and pour it onto the cookie at the end it tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Husband loves poppyseed stuff so I tried this one. He said it was best with coffee and/or hot chocolate. I'm not a fan of poppyseed, but it makes the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I made these for Christmas and they weren't too pretty but they were delicious. I would make these for everyday cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I am very disappointed in this recipe. First of all, the recipe says to combine cream and poppy seeds but do not boil...well it couldn't have boiled anyways because once I added all those poppy seeds, there wasn't anymore cream left. I had to make sure that the poppy seeds didn't stick to the bottom of the pan and burn. After I baked my first batch, I couldn't even get them off the pan, they were hard as a rock. So the next bacth I tried for only 8 minutes like normal cookies, but then they didn't cook. So then I tried for 15 minutes, but they still turned out hard as a rock. I followed the recipe to a "T"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Great recipe! Unique taste, and really moist after storage in airtight container for a day or two. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I had to make 7 dozen cookies... was hard to find the amount of poppy seed I needed. I ended up using less than 1/2 the poppy seed and it still worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Even though I made them a month ago and can't remember the adjustments to ingredients I didn't have on hand at the time I DO remember that these were indeed excellent and well received by all! Thank you. They are to be tightly sealed and eaten days later for best flavour and chewy factor. My hungarian boyfriend's dad ate a plate of them in one sitting -- they are very edible. My boyfriend really likes 'em too as well as friends wanting new ways to use poppy seeds. Thanks again. Will remake many-a-times. P.S. Most important note: they're best eaten at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States