Poppy Seed Dressing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
The recipe was delicious. The women couldn't stop eating. They licked the bowl clean, manners aside. I thought the dressing was delicious and could easily be made in smaller quantities. I will cut back on the sugar, especially for a salad with sweet fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I was looking for a poppy seed dressing to replace the high cal/high fat dressing that comes pre-packaged in the Costco "Sweet Kale Salad" bag mix. To make it low fat, I subbed Greek yogurt for mayo and cut back a bit on the sugar (@ 1/2 cup instead of 2/3). I also added a few shakes of onion powder and onion flakes. But this recipe has good proportions and would be delicious in its original full fat version as well, I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I made it almost just as written but used fat free half and half instead of whole milk (didn't have whole milk.) I will make this anytime I need a similar dressing. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I absolutely loved loved loved this recipe, and is better than any I have bought in the store. I have been searching for a delicious dressing and finally found one with this recipe and thank you paralee for posting it. I hate when people make changes to someone recipes and now here I am, one of them, sorry, but also am happy that people do sometimes because it gives me ideas of how to maybe improve the recipe, so hope I do not offend you, because it is very delicious. But instead of the sugar I added 1/3 Cup of Agave and only 1 TBSP of poppy seeds and that seemed at least to me sweet enough and enough of the poppy seeds. Maybe next time I make it I will use some Greek yogurt to maybe make it thicker and add some protein, but over all it was delicious! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Good, used 1/2 the sugar, and substituted half and half, used canola based mayonnaise. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this recipe and have used it for a green salad and also for coleslaw. It is the best poppy seed dressing that I have tried. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe was great! I cut back on the sugar and poppy seeds, but it had a nice texture and was perfect on a fruit spinach salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Love this on greens with fruit & nuts (just had it on spinach with fresh picked raspberries & toasted almond slivers). To make it a little healthier, I use low fat mayo & skim milk. Also add a little more milk to thin it out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Delicious! I am tired of store bought bottled dressings and I was looking for a simple poppy seed dressing to make with things on hand- this was it! I scaled back the recipe to only 4 servings. I used lowfat/light mayo, 1% milk, and cider vinegar (no white wine vinegar). I used the dressing on a mixed spinach, lettuce salad with strawberries, left over roaster chicken, feta cheese, and almonds- I kept telling my husband this is the best salad I ever ate...Definitely I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Great dressing and easy, too! My favorite quick and easy use: A pre-bagged coleslaw (or broccoli slaw) with dried cranberries and sunflower seeds mixed in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States