Poppy Seed Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I'm the submitter of this recipe, and I haven't been here in a long while, but I was APPALLED when I read the recipe here. It is supposed to read ONE TABLESPOON onion juice, not a whole onion!!!!! No wonder some people said it was too onion-y! Honestly, I don't believe I submittied it that way, maybe a typo when Allrecipes posted it. So sorry it came out that way! It really is a great dressing. Additionally I've found it gets by very well with only 1/2 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is an out standing recipe. I have been making this for years. The only difference in my recipe is I use only 1/2 cup sugar and 1T minced onion and only 1T poppy seed. I have made without onions too. Mix in blender without the seeds. Add seeds after blending. It really is restaurant quality. Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Very tasty recipe Cathy. I followed the suggestions of some of the other reviewers and used only 1/2 cup of sugar and maybe 1/4 cup of grated onion. I added a little balsamic vinegar (the brand I use is strong and rather sweet) for a bit more flavor. I mixed this in the blender, adding the oil in a small stream so I ended up with a mayonnaise-like dressing and then added the poppy seeds. On baby spinach with fresh raspberries and crumbled blue cheese, it was an ideal summer evening salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
My husband and 5 year-old love this. I made a spinach salad with sliced strawberries and toasted sliced almonds. This dressing went perfectly! Made a great refreshing "summer" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I would rename this dressing to Onion-Poppy Seed Dressing II. I only used a very small part of an onion, but it was way too much for this. Granted, I used a white onion. I would only recommend using a SWEET onion for this recipe. Otherwise, this dressing wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Yummy! Fantastic version of a cole slaw dressing. I made a couple of minor alterations which turned out perfectly...Used 1/2 c. white sugar with 1/4 c. brown sugar, used 1/2 C. veg oil with 1/2 c. Wildtree's Roasted Onion Grapeseed Oil*, added 1 tsp prepared horseradish. Served dressing over 1 head shredded red cabbage, 1/2 large shredded vidalia onion, 2 shredded carrots and 1/2 C. roasted slivered almonds. *You may have read in some of my other reviews that I love Wildree Herbs' products. Top notch ingredients. I don't know where they're available around the country (I'm in R.I.), but you can check them out at www.wildtreeherbs.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
WONDERFUL! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
A local restaurant serves this dressing and it is my favorite! Great on a salad with chicken, dried cherries, mandarin oranges and almonds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
I have searched high and low for a poppyseed/onion dressing It's been a while and I forgot how to make it. This rendition of the recipe is GREAT!!!! Thanks Enoch D. Ridings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Wonderful recipe!! Very tasty...I didn't have the patience to grate 1 whole onion, so I used maybe 1/4 of one. Only thing that needs to change is that after a day or so the dressing gets pretty thick. Might need to add more liquid. Overall, I was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Peel, Seed, and Dice Tomatoes

Watch how to peel, seed, and dice fresh tomatoes for salsas, salads, and more.

How to Cut and Seed Melons

Get tips for choosing, peeling, seeding, and serving ripe melons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States