Poppy Seed Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This is a good, easy dressing. I ran out of cider vinegar, so I combined it with red wine vinegar. I also subbed agave for sugar and used slightly less onion juice. I find most poppy seed dressings too sweet, but this was just right. It was perfect with Wasabi Secret Salad, from this site. It also went well with Mushroom Patacone Pita, sans pita and served as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was very tasty. The only thing I changed was that I only used a little bit of onion. It makes a lot, so next time I'll cut the recipe in half. Served with Spinach Salad with Peaches and Pecans (recipe from this site). A great summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Good basic recipe and easy to make. I also make something similar except I use 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup regular vinegar, 1/2 medium onion cut up, 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, 1 1/4 teaspoons dry mustard. I use a blender and blend the above ingredients. Then I add 1 cup salad oil and blend only for about 10 seconds (or it can get too thick). Then I add the poppyseeds and only blend for 10 more seconds or less. Similar flavor, but not as sweet. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very sweet but good. I did cut back slightly on the sugar but it still tasted grainy. I was concerned the grated onion would over power this so I tried onion powder instead. Next time I will try using a sweet onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Some would say the 3/4 cup of sugar makes this dressing much too sweet. I think it's just preference. If you don't want it too sweet, add 1/2 cup sugar and see if you think it needs more. Other than that, it's a fantastic recipe that has us hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a very good recipe and easy to make. I served it warm over spinach, mushroom, egg and bacon bit salad and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Great recipe. I've made it a couple of times now and when it's past its "use by" date we use it to baste meat on the braai (barbecue). It is absolutely super. I vary it with the amount of seeds, sugar and type of vinegar and oil but it's just as good with any variation. Keep them coming. Susie Blue, Johannesburg, SA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is very easy to make and very delicious! I served it over a romaine lettuce salad with mandarin oranges, blueberries, cashews and swiss cheese. I also cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup. I could have even gone with a little less sugar, but since this was for company I didn't want to play around with it too much. Some people were saying they used less onion than called for. Perhaps they misunderstood the recipe? It is not the onion you put in--it is the onion JUICE. I wasn't sure how I was going to get the juice out of the grated onion but I just picked it all up in my hands and squeezed it into a bowl. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Great recipe. My family asks for this at cookouts and gatherings. I only grate about 2 tablespoons of an onion and that seems plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is an excellant recipe. I used to make it all the time for the restaurant I worked for. I like to cook the sugar, vinegar, onions and spices together. Then cool it down and add the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Peel, Seed, and Dice Tomatoes

Watch how to peel, seed, and dice fresh tomatoes for salsas, salads, and more.

How to Cut and Seed Melons

Get tips for choosing, peeling, seeding, and serving ripe melons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States