Poppy Seed Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This dressing is perfect for a Spinach Salad or cabbage slaw. I too have cut down only on the sugar portion and followed the rest of receipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
very yummy, just what I was looking for. I used my magic bullet to blend up everything but the poppyseeds. I used 1/4 of a yellow onion, and 1/2 cup grapeseed oil, 1/2 cup light olive oil, otherwise everything as written. Done in the bullet, it is creamy, like a mayo dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I decided grating onion might be messy and I expected a whisked dressing might separate. I used a 1/4 inch slice of a large sweet onion. I used a blender food processor attachement and started with the onion and vinegar on the highest speed for a few seconds. Add the rest of the ingredients except poppy seeds and process for several more seconds. Stir in poppy seeds. The onion is completely blended in and the dressing won't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Delicious! the perfect dressing. I did adjust the recipe a bit to make it easier and much more low fat. My version of this recipe has 3.5 grams of fat per serving, while the original has 14 grams of fat per serving. First of all I only used 1/4 cup oil, and I added 1 1/2 cups water. I added something called "xantham gum" it's a white powdery thickener that is often used in gluten free cooking. Commercial salad dressings use it to emulsify and thicken. You can buy it in the gluten free section of some grocery stores, or at a whole foods store. It's kindof expensive, but a little bit goes a long way. Also, instead of grating the onion and using the juice I just added 1/8 cup chopped onion. Blended everything except the poppy seeds in the blender until smooth and thick, then mixed in the poppy seeds at the end. Fabulous! Drizzled the dressing over spinach, almonds, mandarine oranges, and bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Delicious! FUN COMBINATION OF RECIPES HERE: I decided to combine the Poppy Seed Dressing I and II recipes, one being more traditionally vinegrette, and the other more contemporary milky/creamy dressing. Here's what I did: I substituted honey instead of sugar. Then I did the oil and cider vinegar and I used wholegrain dijon mustard and then added the lowfat mayo and milk (but less than the recipe calls for) and blended it together. Then added the poppyseeds later. Delicious mix, making a creamier version of the vinegrette! Great with spinach or other green mix with mandarin oranges, nuts, or other berries, and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
love the dressing - I made it low-cal by decreasing the oil and adding water and more vinigar. I also used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This is a good, easy dressing. I ran out of cider vinegar, so I combined it with red wine vinegar. I also subbed agave for sugar and used slightly less onion juice. I find most poppy seed dressings too sweet, but this was just right. It was perfect with Wasabi Secret Salad, from this site. It also went well with Mushroom Patacone Pita, sans pita and served as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was very tasty. The only thing I changed was that I only used a little bit of onion. It makes a lot, so next time I'll cut the recipe in half. Served with Spinach Salad with Peaches and Pecans (recipe from this site). A great summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Good basic recipe and easy to make. I also make something similar except I use 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup regular vinegar, 1/2 medium onion cut up, 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, 1 1/4 teaspoons dry mustard. I use a blender and blend the above ingredients. Then I add 1 cup salad oil and blend only for about 10 seconds (or it can get too thick). Then I add the poppyseeds and only blend for 10 more seconds or less. Similar flavor, but not as sweet. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very sweet but good. I did cut back slightly on the sugar but it still tasted grainy. I was concerned the grated onion would over power this so I tried onion powder instead. Next time I will try using a sweet onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Peel, Seed, and Dice Tomatoes

Watch how to peel, seed, and dice fresh tomatoes for salsas, salads, and more.

How to Cut and Seed Melons

Get tips for choosing, peeling, seeding, and serving ripe melons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States