Poppy Seed Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I've made this dressing so many times I've lost count. Everytime I take it on my summer salad mix everyone wants the recipe. The only thing I've changed is I put 2 tsp of onion powder instead of grating the onion and use 1 tsp of poppy seed. They eat this instead of dessert. Love it, Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I'm the submitter of this recipe, and I haven't been here in a long while, but I was APPALLED when I read the recipe here. It is supposed to read ONE TABLESPOON onion juice, not a whole onion!!!!! No wonder some people said it was too onion-y! Honestly, I don't believe I submittied it that way, maybe a typo when Allrecipes posted it. So sorry it came out that way! It really is a great dressing. Additionally I've found it gets by very well with only 1/2 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I'd use half an onion next time, but excellent dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I added 1/3 cup of homey instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This dressing is perfect for a Spinach Salad or cabbage slaw. I too have cut down only on the sugar portion and followed the rest of receipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
very yummy, just what I was looking for. I used my magic bullet to blend up everything but the poppyseeds. I used 1/4 of a yellow onion, and 1/2 cup grapeseed oil, 1/2 cup light olive oil, otherwise everything as written. Done in the bullet, it is creamy, like a mayo dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I decided grating onion might be messy and I expected a whisked dressing might separate. I used a 1/4 inch slice of a large sweet onion. I used a blender food processor attachement and started with the onion and vinegar on the highest speed for a few seconds. Add the rest of the ingredients except poppy seeds and process for several more seconds. Stir in poppy seeds. The onion is completely blended in and the dressing won't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Delicious! the perfect dressing. I did adjust the recipe a bit to make it easier and much more low fat. My version of this recipe has 3.5 grams of fat per serving, while the original has 14 grams of fat per serving. First of all I only used 1/4 cup oil, and I added 1 1/2 cups water. I added something called "xantham gum" it's a white powdery thickener that is often used in gluten free cooking. Commercial salad dressings use it to emulsify and thicken. You can buy it in the gluten free section of some grocery stores, or at a whole foods store. It's kindof expensive, but a little bit goes a long way. Also, instead of grating the onion and using the juice I just added 1/8 cup chopped onion. Blended everything except the poppy seeds in the blender until smooth and thick, then mixed in the poppy seeds at the end. Fabulous! Drizzled the dressing over spinach, almonds, mandarine oranges, and bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Delicious! FUN COMBINATION OF RECIPES HERE: I decided to combine the Poppy Seed Dressing I and II recipes, one being more traditionally vinegrette, and the other more contemporary milky/creamy dressing. Here's what I did: I substituted honey instead of sugar. Then I did the oil and cider vinegar and I used wholegrain dijon mustard and then added the lowfat mayo and milk (but less than the recipe calls for) and blended it together. Then added the poppyseeds later. Delicious mix, making a creamier version of the vinegrette! Great with spinach or other green mix with mandarin oranges, nuts, or other berries, and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
love the dressing - I made it low-cal by decreasing the oil and adding water and more vinigar. I also used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Peel, Seed, and Dice Tomatoes

Watch how to peel, seed, and dice fresh tomatoes for salsas, salads, and more.

How to Cut and Seed Melons

Get tips for choosing, peeling, seeding, and serving ripe melons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States