Poppy Seed Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is an easy and delicious dressing. I cut the recipe down to 1/4. I also subbed onion powder (about 1/4 t for my small recipe) and it turned out fabulously. It is pretty sweet, but was a nice touch to a spinach salad with fruit, nuts and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
really good! i made this for one person, so I had to adjust the measurements but it still turned out really nicely. I also added a little lemon juice and crushed cloves which gave it a nice little spice and a unique flavor. It compliments a strawberry chicken salad nicely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chripuri91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Served to 20 ladies today, who loved it. I didn't realize you were not supposed to use the grated onion. I used a purple onion, juice and all. It was awesome, and a neat color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The only thing I added was some chopped apple. This would be very good over a fruit or veggies. We love this over spinach with dried cranberries, walnuts, and orange slices. Sometimes we even throw on fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianes Favorites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a great dressing. I used it over romaine, craisins, cashews, red onion, and cucumber. YUM! I discovered I was out of yellow and white onions and I used a red onion for the dressing. It turned it pale pink! I'll be using it again for my Easter Dinner salad as I thought the color was excellent and springy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this recipe and it seems to have way to many poppy seeds in it. If I were to re-do it i would cut out the poppy seeds by half or even less. It has a good all around taste, but the poppy seeds just over power it too much, and as Cathy later said, only add 1 T of onion, not the whole onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I've made this dressing so many times I've lost count. Everytime I take it on my summer salad mix everyone wants the recipe. The only thing I've changed is I put 2 tsp of onion powder instead of grating the onion and use 1 tsp of poppy seed. They eat this instead of dessert. Love it, Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I'm the submitter of this recipe, and I haven't been here in a long while, but I was APPALLED when I read the recipe here. It is supposed to read ONE TABLESPOON onion juice, not a whole onion!!!!! No wonder some people said it was too onion-y! Honestly, I don't believe I submittied it that way, maybe a typo when Allrecipes posted it. So sorry it came out that way! It really is a great dressing. Additionally I've found it gets by very well with only 1/2 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I'd use half an onion next time, but excellent dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I added 1/3 cup of homey instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Peel, Seed, and Dice Tomatoes

Watch how to peel, seed, and dice fresh tomatoes for salsas, salads, and more.

How to Cut and Seed Melons

Get tips for choosing, peeling, seeding, and serving ripe melons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States