Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I make this all the time minus the sherry just because I don't ever buy it. My fiance loves it, and he's super picky! I've baked it for friends and family and have never had a complaint! It's also great for freezing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
So yummy and easy. I make this during the week quite often. It's a great meal to bring people also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This is awesome...so creamy and mild. It is going in the rotation for sure. We serve it over brown rice for a nice texture...loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I don't use sherry with this recipe, but it is amazing without it. I always crush two of the ritz packs and bake a few more than 5 minutes without it being covered. It comes out amazing and I never have enough to feed everyone. They always want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was a wonderful dish! I followed the recipe exactly, and my family loved it! In fact, my husband said his mom makes something similar that is really good, but he thought this was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
My family loves this dish! It has become a staple in our house. I've had it without the sherry and it is really not the same. The sherry gives it a punch that is lacking without it. Delicious!!! My ultimate comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
My husband and I love this recipe - couldn't get enough! And I am not a huge fan of recipes that involve canned soup, so that's saying something. The sherry makes the dish, so if you have it (or wine), use it! Next time I think I will try cream of mushroom. Used light soup and sour cream to reduce some of the fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this for years, but when I got married my husband said he would not eat casseroles. One night I finally made this for him, and now he says it's the ONLY casserole he likes. The only differences I make are I omit the sherry entirely, toss the melted butter with the crumbs, and sprinkle the poppy seeds across the top. Just as a word of caution, he swears the poppy seeds give him weird dreams LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is an EXCELLENT recipe! I made only minor changes. I omitted the sherry and used chicken and muxhroom soup. I've seen other recipes like this calling for 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom soups. Since this only uses 1 can of soup, I decided to use the two combined in 1 can. I also used just 1 sleeve of Ritz crackers. It was just right! Served it over rice and did a side vegie and dinner was complete. EVERYONE LOVED IT!!! Thank you sooooooo much for such a GREAT recipe, Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Thanks Janet, this was truly fabulous! Super easy to prepare and went well with rice with herbes de provence and some sweet peas. I'd never even heard of poppyseed chicken before, so we didn't know what to expect. This was beyond expectation, a keeper! I didn't dice the chicken, just left the breasts whole. The cracker topping was sooo good, we used a spoon to scoop up extra from the casserole dish, yummy! This is a great comfort food. 4.5 stars for this winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States