Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I love this recipe! I leave out the sherry, and instead of pouring the butter on top, I mix it with the cracker/poppyseed mix, then sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I made this for a couple of friends and they both loved it. I did make a lot of modifications to the recipe based on others suggestions, therefore it only gets 4 stars. I used the French Onion dip instead of sour cream, used chicken breasts rather than shredding it, used cream of mushroom soup and added fresh cut mushrooms. I also used white wine instead of sherry b/c I had it on hand. Next time I would like to make up the mixture, let the chicken marinate in it over night and cook it on low heat so the chicken would be more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is an old family favorite in my house. It was my favorite when I was little - and that says a lot because I was very picky. I add the butter (I use low-fat and a little less) to the cracker mixture. It's not so messy. Also, I shred the chicken breasts after poaching. Use judgement when spreading on the soup/sour cream mixture over the chicken-only use enough to cover the chicken. Can use low-fat soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
this was really fantastic served over white rice. i added a little garlic and chilie powder when i cooked the chicken to spice it up a bit. then used half the sour cream and butter called for to reduce fat. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
My family now requests this for every gathering. It always turns out perfect, and is easily complimented by a variety of sidedishes. I've used white wine with success when sherry wasn't handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This turned out to be great! My boyfriend absolutely loved it! I even made it ahead one night and it was great reheated. I omitted the sherry and I added: finely chopped celery, onion, fresh garlic, and blended it all in with sourcream/soup mix. I also added softened cream cheese and cooked egg noodles! All of the additions made this simple recipe 'gourmet'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Ver easy and delicious. You can use french onion dip in place of the sour cream- it adds more flavor. Also, you can use different soups. Cream of mushroom or celery work well. This is one of my favorites. I told people from work about it and they tried it and all love it too. Also a bit hit with children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is my husbands FAVORITE dish, although I make a few changes to it. I like it because it is so versitile and goof-proof! I usually poach the chicken with some onion, celery and carrots for flavor, and use Wheatsworth crackers in the topping, processing them in a food processor with the butter and poppyseeds to make a sand-like topping that bakes together nicely. I also mix the sauce with the chicken rather than spreading it on top of the chicken to keep the chicken nice and moist. I also add leftover veggies (ie: peas, broccoli, carrots, etc) to the chicken mixture more often than not. Its a good way to sneak in veggies since my hubby doesn't like to eat them plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Leydsman Fecke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This wasn't very good at all. Neither my husband or I liked it, and we're pretty easy. My 1-year-old picked at it, and my 3-year-old ate one bite and wouldn't touch any other food that came in contact with it. It was a lot of work for the end result, and we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe is quick and easy. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States