Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I am rating this because I have had it as is and is really good. I had to adjust tonight to what I had on hand. I had 3 small cans of chicken, mixed with a can of cream of celery with a chicken boullion in it. Mixed that with the chicken and sour cream. Since this wouldn't make much I made white rice with a chicken boullioun cube in it. Layerd the rice and then the chicken mixture and then the crushed crackers, butter and poppy seeds on top. made a 8x8 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was such a good comfort food meal for the first cool day in Norther Arkansas. I made exactly as the recipe stated except I substituted bone in chicken thighs and boned and skinned them before sauteing in evoo and s&p. After which I shredded with forks. My picky 5 year old asked for seconds! I served with white rice, steamed green beans and canned biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
great recipe! i've had this before, but i make it a vegetarian version. :) i just use cream of mushroom instead of chicken and i use quorn faux chicken fillets. so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
yum. you kind of have to play with the cream of chicken sour cream mixture to taste. and add about 3-4 tbso of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I followed recipe except for the dry sherry because I didn't have any. This is delicious! Can't wait to add the dry sherry next time. This is wonderful over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Great recipe, easy to adjust. Added poppy seeds to sour cream/soup mixture, in addition to the cracker topping. Used hint of salt crackers, low fat sour cream, and white wine and still came out tasty! Added sauteed fine diced onion, and sauteed mushrooms to the dish. Layered diced raw chicken on the bottom, then onions, mushrooms before spreading the sauce and finally topping with crackers. By the way, 8oz of crackers equals two sleeves according to the package. This is a lot, but if you love the crunchy topping, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
LOVED this! It was delicious. It was so creamy, and the chicken just melted in your mouth. My husband and family LOVED it. We scraped the dish clean!! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Very yummy. I followed the recipe very closely. I did cook the chicken first, then diced it, then covered with sauce and toppings to bake. Baked 25 minutes covered, 5 minutes uncovered). I used "Honey Butter" Ritz Crackers. My husband and in-laws loved it too. We ate almost the entire 6 serving pan, just the 4 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
good--i used italian bread crumbs instead of the crushed crackers, and used more like 3 tsp of poppy seeds. i'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
We had this chicken for dinner last night and we loved it. I'll be making this often. Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States