Poppy Seed Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Made this tonight for a bunch of men and they loved it. I cut up and cooked some chicken with onions and garlic, mixed it with the rest of the ingredients and threw in some peas. I noticed that it wasn't enough chicken, so I threw it in the fridge, and on the way back home later in the evening I picked up a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken and pulled meat from it until the whole mixture filled a 9x13 pan. I used poppy seeds in both the chicken mixture and the topping. Served with roasted red potatoes and crescent rolls. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I have had this recipe in my family for years.... but we make it a bit differently. We use 1 can cream of mushroom soup, and 1 cup sour cream. Alot of people I know use cream of chicken soup, but it is much creamier and has better flavor with cream of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I actually discovered this recipe from my brother and grandmother while we were visiting them a couple of weeks ago. My brother raved about it and after returning home, I looked it up here. I've made it twice already, it's such a big hit with EVERYONE in my family, including the little ones! It's definitely a keeper. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a super easy recipe for chicken that I have been eating for a few years. It is easy and is a somewhat different take on your ordinary chicken because of the poppy seeds. Don't skimp on them! I serve it over egg noodles and its delicious, even leftover (if we ever have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great comfort food. I serve over noodles. I generally don't have leftover chicken so I just brown up some of those flash frozen tenderloins. I season them with a bit of garlic salt, poultry seasoning and pepper and cut them into bitesized pieces when they're done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
So quick and easy to make and so yummy! I try to make it soupy enough to put a layer of rice on the bottom of the casserole first. YUM!!! Awesome comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was very tasty! I did a couple things different. I took a short cut from the store and bought a rotisserie chicken and shredded the whole thing. I took advise from other reviewers and added sauted onions and I also added a can of chopped green chiles. Minus the buttery crumb topping, I mixed everything together before putting it in the dish. I concur with another reviewer, 1 teaspoon of poppy seeds is not enough...I added about a tablespoon of poppy seeds to the mixture itself and about 2 tablespoons to the topping. Serve with brown rice and a veggie and viola, a great and simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Pretty good. My husband liked it. I thought it was a little rich and overwhelmingly greasy. Oh well. It's okay to enjoy something "southern" every once-in-a-while. :) I served it over rice because I'm not sure it should be eaten alone. Way too rich but very good with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Super tasty. I like the poppy seed flavor. Good recipe to have on hand when you have very few ingredients in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I received this recipe from my mother-in-law. I love this recipe...but hers has a few differences: 2 cans Cream of Chicken Soup; 1 TBSP Poppy Seeds; 8 oz Sour Cream; & 2 sleeves of Ritz crackers w/ a little melted butter! I serve w/ mac & cheese & butter or lima beans and cornbread muffins! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Braxton, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States