Poppy Seed Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I have eaten this several times but never made it myself. I love this recipe- it's comfort food to the max. I used a rotisserie chicken from the deli for ease in preparation and only added extra poppy seeds, salt, pepper, a dash of garlic powder and poultry seasoning for some extra flavor. Very easy and so satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I make this recipe at home all the time and everyone loves it! I serve it over rice. Very comforting! I also made this recipe for a ladies meeting at church. Scaled it for 200 and it still came out perfect! I got rave reviews from everyone. You cannot mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Delicious! One of our favorites. I usually mix up the chicken, sour cream, and cream of chicken soup the day before I bake to let the flavors mix. It's also excellent as left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is the standard recipe my family has used for this meal for years and years and it always goes over well. I usually use it as my go-to picnic recipe and I've handed out this recipe more times than I can count! The only difference between this and mine is that I use about 1 tbsp of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riskie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe is ok.. but better when use 1 can cream of celery soup and one can mushroom soup and add poppy seed to the mixture of chunked chicken and sour cream and soup. Then place the crushed, buttered Hi-HO crumbs on top.. Dlicious... but very high in calories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Different from your basic chicken, and good. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
just what my son requested! whole family loved it. i did add extra sour cream and doubled the poppy seeds. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My husband loved this recipe. I think it would be better if there was more topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poptart1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I use a can of cream of chicken AND a can of cream of mushroom. You need to season the chicken with garlic powder, basil, and oregano for it to have more flavor. I also add a little salt and pepper to the mixture before adding the topping. This is my kids favorite dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Love this! Long time family favorite. Instead of combining crackers, butter and poppy seeds in a seperate bowl, I've always crumbled the crackers in the sleeve and distributed them evenly over the whole dish, then put the poppy seeds on, and poured on the melted butter last. I prefer this method because I can assure it all is distributed evenly. I also sprinkle a few poppy seeds, along w/ salt and pepper, over the chicken before adding crackers. I uncover this the last five minutes of cooking to crisp up the cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States