Poppy Seed Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This dish is one of my family's favorites. I use 1/2 stick melted butter in the bottom of casserole dish, then the diced chicken which I salt and pepper, then sour cream/soup mixture, crackers, poppy seeds, and 1/2 stick melted butter over crackers. We like it over rice or wide egg noodles. You can't beat this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsboro, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I used jalapeno greek yogurt instead of sour cream to make it less fattening. I also added onions, celery and garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
YUM! I usually don't rate recipes unless I followed them exactly, but I thought this was worth mentioning. As others suggested, I added a few things for extra flavor and it turned out really good. I browned sliced chicken breasts in a little olive oil, and sauteed until cooked through. Put in baking dish, and sprinkled with a little celery salt, onion powder and parsley. I added 1/2 tsp. black pepper plus about 1/4 cup white wine to the sauce mixture, as well as increased the poppy seeds to about 2 heaping tsp. Also as another suggested, I used all low fat/light options and used only 1/4 cup butter. Served over egg noodles with steamed asparagus on the side. Will for sure be making again! Very very creamy, comforting, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is such a simple easy recipe. I use it often. I have also used raw sunflower seeds. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shani
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is the recipe that I always make when I need a meal to take to a family. I get lots of compliments on it and it is so easy to make in a pinch. I keep ingredients in my kitchen at all times. We love green beans and crossiant with it! If you over cook the chicken it makes the dish dry...I precook my chicken until just barely done...it is gonna get 30 more minutes in the oven anyway. Turns out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My mother-in-law loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love this recipe. It is simple and very tasty. This is definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolnp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deridder, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I have used this recipe several times. I teach and its a perfect dish to scoop out a serving and haul it to school with me. Reheating it is no problem, it comes out of the microwave yummy. I use way more than a teaspoon of poppy seeds and probably more butter too. It is a rather bland dish if you prefer spices and stronger flavors. I sometimes add salt and pepper to mine. An Italian herb mix (found at most grocery stores) would be a nice addition. Also, a friend of mine makes this for her 3 young sons and it's ALWAYS a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BekahBoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent! I've even baked this in the crock pot and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I was a bit disappointed. It wasn't very creamy and scored a little low on the flavor scale at our house. I'm sure with modifications it would be OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States