Poppy Seed Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This is the first recipe I have made off this website and my alltime favorite to date. It has an addictive rich flavor. Ritz roasted vegetable crackers make a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This dish is a keeper and a definite comfort food. Don't let the fat content scare you off - it can easily be altered. I made it with reduced fat Ritz crackers, 98% fat free soup, light sour cream and half the butter and it still came out great! (but not low-fat) I noticed that some reviewers thought this was somewhat lacking in flavor, so I sprinkled the chicken with basil, oregano and garlic powder and browned it before adding water and simmering it for about 15 minutes. I prepared the chicken the night before while making dinner so I could have cooked, chopped chicken all ready to go. As suggested by another reviewer, I stirred the chicken, soup and sour cream together in a bowl before putting it in the casserole dish. Serve with bread and some steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Oh, I loved this one! So creamy and yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Made with light sour cream, 98% fat-free soup, and slow-cooker chicken. Excellent results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I kind of cringed at the calories and fat content but thought you know what a splurge once in awhile is no big deal. I made this dish and my husband and 16 monht old could not get enough of it. It is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvyone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I love comfort food, but I almost didn't make this recipe when I saw the fat/calorie content! Then after reading a review from LORI3405 (about 10 reviews down from this one) I decided to give it a try. LORI used low fat soup and fat free sour cream and reported good results. I followed her example, plus I used reduced fat butter crackers and only half the amount of butter the recipe calls for. I was very pleased with the outcome. I don't usually alter a recipe the first time I make it, but I wouldn't have been able to enjoy this one knowing I was eating 50 grams of fat in one meal. The reduced fat version came out really good and I'll definitely be making it again. Thanks for the recipe, and thanks to LORI3405 for trying the lighter version and telling us about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This is a keeper. If I am making the chicken for this recipe, I usually season it with a chicken seasoning, but it's not necessary. I don't use the poppy seeds b/c my husband is allergic, but it is still really yummy and easy!! Good leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Scrumptious and easy to make! We really liked it a lot. Both kids, 3 and under, gobbled it up. DH said it was good and we could have it again. While boiling the chicken, I added some dried minced onion. Once I put the cut up chicken in the dish (I used 3 large breasts), I sprinkled lemon pepper over it. I also added an extra 1/4 teaspoon of poppyseeds. Really good. Served with mashed potatoes and mixed veggies. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
very easy, filling, and tasty! I make this on busy weeknights when im in a rush....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
My 12 year old daughter made this for our dinner; it was super easy to make and tasted pretty good. Nothing amazing in the flavor department, but a quick, good meal in a short time for a weeknight. We served it with rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States