Poppy Seed Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Made this dish for the first time last night and it was a hit with the boyfriend. Definitely will be using this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I add a can of cream of celery. Very good addition. We leave the poppy seeds out, yet still call it poppy seed chicken :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Super good! Basic for one of our favorite recipes. I always add some spices (garlic salt, fresh ground pepper, paprika, and onion powder) to taste to our liking. We also stir in a bit of milk or cream. Poppy seeds weren't usually a staple in this house, until we made this dish. Now, they're always in the spice cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UtahMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Good comfort food. I sauteed onions & garlic and used cream of mushroom soup along with a TBS of poppy seeds. Served it with mashed potatoes and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A keeper. I read the reviews and incorporated them. Thank you all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
A great way to use up leftover cooked chicken or Thanksgiving turkey! I don't layer...I just mix the chicken with the soup and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
very good and couldn't be easier to make! We served it with rice cooked in chicken broth. I will make it again! Maybe for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGWISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This made the best chicken sandwich ever. I shredded the chicken and mixed everything together, put crackers, poppy seeds, and butter mix on top. Then we ended up mixing it all up and putting it o buns. So good! I think I will add broccoli next time if I want to keep it in casserole form. But hubby loved it as shredded chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bradford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious! I did think it tasted a little too much like sour cream until I mixed the buttery crackers in (I had no poppy seeds on hand, unfortunately). Perhaps I will add a little bit of butter to the sour cream/soup mix or just use a little less sour cream next time. There will definitely be a next time! It was so rich I couldn't even finish one serving. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I remember my mom making this for me 30 years ago.... And this tastes just the same! Very nice! As always, though of you who know me.... I like to add some heat. So... I put about a teaspoon of Spanish paprika, about 10 clicks of fresh ground black pepper and garlic powder. In addition - 2 dashes of oregano and 2 dashes of basil. I used 2 large chicken breasts, cut them into uncooked chunks and mixed them with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Of course at least 1 cup of sour cream... Finally, instead of regular saltines, try Keebler Club Crackers!!!!!!!! Then, the 1/2 cup butter works just fine. I cook for 30 minutes, check it and usually let it ride another 10 to 15 minutes. DO NOT OVERCOOK or the crackers taste terrible.... All-in-all, this goes great with garlic mashed potatoes, rice (white or otherwise) or pasta. A truly versatile dish! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States