Poppy Seed Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Great recipe! My family loved eating this for breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
This was EXCELLENT!!!! I have never made this type of cake before, but I will definately make it again! I did add half of a lemon and 1 tsp. lemon extract to make it different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Not only was this cake delicious and easy to make, it kept very well in the refrigerator. It was a definite hit with everyone, including my father who loves poppy-seed cake, and my three year old. I also added lemon zest. This is a wonderful recipe, easy to whip up and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I love this recipe! I add almond extract to it and make it an almond poppy seed cake. I also like making a nice glaze out of melted butter, almond extract and powdered sugar, then I press sliced toasted almonds to the glaze. It makes such a pretty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was so delicious! I baked it for as two loaves, for a Christmas loaf exchange. Well let's just say I had to make more because my family insisted on taste testing before I gave it to someone else and they got eaten up. Very easy to make, very moist...just plain good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Kirkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
This is the easiest Poppyseed Cake recipe I have ever used! It is great. I added orange zest, and a orange glaze. So delicious, you won't go wrong with this gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
My mother made poppyseed cake all during my youth, and this is the absolute closest I've ever tasted to those moist, aromatic, flavorful loaves she used to make. This recipe is a dream to make; very easy and everybody loves to eat it freshly sliced, toasted and spread with cream cheese, or split and sprinkled with liquer and fresh fruit and whipped creme. As another reviewer did, I served it with orange juice glaze (oj, powdered sugar, vanilla extract, almond extract). A little advanced warning: make it in two loaf pans and hide the second way back in the freezer. Otherwise, you could end up eating the whole tube pan in a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
i do a similar recipe...but i use poppyseed pie filling from pennsylvania!!!!try it! it works!otherwise, its the same recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was good stuff!! I did use some poppyseed solo brand filling I had in the fridge I also switched out the evap. milk for 1 3/4 scant cup of half and half (had no evap. milk on hand), and added a lemon glaze. The cake is very moist and tasty!! Will be making this one again =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is the easiest Poppyseed Cake recipe I have ever used! It is great. I made this with Custard filling. So delicious, you won't go wrong with this gem. I would like to share the one i made myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States