Poppy Seed Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Love it. Added almond flavoring and toasted slivered almonds. Used lemon filling (found on here) and buttercream to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This cake came out great. I did something a little different with the glaze though. I made a sugar, water, butter sauce on the stove and added a quarter cup of orange juice and a quarter cup of 43 Liqueur and then poured half the mixture back into the bundt pan and put the cake back into it. I then poured the rest of the mixture on top of the cake and let it soak it all up. It landed up giving it a nice orangy flavor and tasted awesome. Next time, I will put some of the 43 Liqueur into the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
A nice basic cake recipe with real ingredients, and very easy to make, too. This recipe is just as easy as the ones that use cake and/or pudding mixes. I used half whole wheat flour and added a little lemon zest & juice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This cake came out perfectly! It was the right texture and the flavor was delicious. It also freezes well if you have any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawiccewoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Fantastic cake! Super easy. Tastes like my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this this morning and made 12 muffins and 1 loaf and it was absolutely perfect. The only thing I did differently wad that I did not use vanilla and used 1 tsp of pure lemon extract, wonderfully lemon - poppy seed flavor. No glaze for us, they were sweet enough just like they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KDA1114
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was delicious. Not overly sweet. I made a lemon glaze for it- made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is the easiest Poppyseed Cake recipe I have ever used! It is great. I made this with Custard filling. So delicious, you won't go wrong with this gem. I would like to share the one i made myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was good stuff!! I did use some poppyseed solo brand filling I had in the fridge I also switched out the evap. milk for 1 3/4 scant cup of half and half (had no evap. milk on hand), and added a lemon glaze. The cake is very moist and tasty!! Will be making this one again =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
i do a similar recipe...but i use poppyseed pie filling from pennsylvania!!!!try it! it works!otherwise, its the same recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States