Poppy Seed Bundt Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I make this cake during the holidays for gifts...Everyone always loves it! I do "flour" the bundt pan with sugar; makes for a nice, thin, sweet crust. I also add 1 cup of sour cream, and no water. So moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mukamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Talladega, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This cake is exactly what it is, a boxed cake! Nothing fancy and the taste is still that of a boxed cake. For me it was missing something and I think that was sour cream. I make so many of these box cake recipes (just because they are a quick and easy way of me taking baked goods to work every day). A better but very similar recipe is Lisa's chocolate chocolate cake off this site. Just change the cake mix and pudding mix to make the flavor you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Wonderfully moist, perfect light and tender texture, but not overwhelmingly flavorful when using vanilla extract (2 teaspoons). I was out of almond and I will definitely do the almond next time bc the vanilla was rather flavorless. Used 2 loaf pans and baked 35 minutes - perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Used a french vanilla mix, added vanilla and used fat free plain yogurt in place of all oil, and my family raved as if it was one of the best cakes they'd had. Will definitely make it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AishaAhm
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
made this by the recipe exactly, no more, no less. turned out amazingly soft and delicious. i ended up sprinkling powdered sugar on top and it added just enough to an already awesome tasting cake! try this you will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
was gonna post this one as well but glad i searched first....though my/mom's version does lemon pudding. love the "dump" cake ease and the fact that it is both light and flavorful. i do 40min though and that's usually plenty. my mom will sometimes make cupcakes instead (not sure of her bake time)....takes away that moment of finger-crossing that bundt pan flipping always brings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YumLove28
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! I used Duncan Hines' "Butter Golden" cake mix instead of "Classic Yellow", and it was really great. It's a bit decadent, but it's really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLove28
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Rich and wonderful! Such a good texture and taste no icing is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I used 1 tbsp almond extract and 3 tbsp Poppy seeds. Would like to try the orange and lemon version. I also put and almond glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RunnerGirl
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Really Yummy! increased the almond extract to 1T, and added another T of poppy seeds...FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunnerGirl
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States