Poppy Seed Bundt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This cake is absolutely wonderful. I added 1 tsp. of lemon extract and instead of 1 cup oil, I used half cup applesause and half cup oil. When cake was finished cooking, I dusted the top with icing sugar I make this quite regularly now and always get asked for the recipe. Thankyou Darlene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Excellent! Moist and scrumptious. I added about 1 tsp. of sugar at the bottom of my bundt pan before added the mixture. When the cake was done, poked holes through it and drizzled it with juice of one lemon and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. Topped with zest of 1 lemon. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I can't say enough about this cake. It was easy, delicious and a crowd pleaser. My parents happened to drop in after I made this and they took half of it home with them. I used fat free sour cream and might try substituting some applesauce for some oil the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
YUM!!! I made this recipe at a family gathering and everyone devoured it. It is moist and delicious. I only altered it by adding 2t of almod extract, and next time I will increase that to 3t. I served it in a pool of the microwaveable lemon curd also on this webiste, with some fresh, sliced strawberries on the side. An impressive-looking and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe - and very forgiving too. I realized after I had begun to prepare it that I only had 1/4 c. oil, so I used that, and added 2-3 T butter, melted, and 1/2 c water. I wanted to use up the sour cream I had, so it was probably between 1-1 1/4 c sour cream. I only used 2 T poppy seeds for our personal tastes, and lastly I added 1 tsp each of vanilla, almond, and lemon extracts to the batter - my favorite combination. I sprayed my bundt pan thoroughly with cooking spray and sugared it per the instructions, and the cake released from the pan beautifully. It was done for me at 50 min. I glazed it with about 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 2 T butter, melted, a tsp each of vanilla, almond, and lemon extracts (again), and a little water to get the consistency I wanted. All these little accidents added up to a fabulous cake, so I will probably do it exactly the same way again! But I do not think you could do anything to keep this cake from being scrumptious. My daughter declared it "deeeee-licious". Thanks for a great recipe. Good way to use up that cake mix I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Where are 6 stars when you need them? This cake is delicious - moist and wonderful flavor. I followed the recipe to a T and couldn't be more pleased. I did a lemon glaze and drizzled it over the warm cake. Really impressed the family - thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good & moist. I added 1 tsp. almond extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michilinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
DE-LISH!! My mom and I couldnt stop eatin this, it is soooo good. I have made it for many occasions and it is always a favorite. A definite keeper!! Rich, buttery, mmmmmmm..... PS I wouldn't put sugar in the bundt pan first as it caused our cake to stick, i recommend spray oil and lots of flour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was one of the best cakes that I ever tasted. I followed the directions but used splenda instead of sugar and egg beaters instead of eggs. I also added 1 tsp of pure lemon extract and got rave reviews. Thanks Darlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I just adore this cake and it has to be among my favorite lemon cakes I have ever baked. The perfect light and moist taste is just ideal to serve at the end of a summer meal and I love the contrast of the poppy seeds. I used a Pilsbury Lemon cake mix and also added 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. Followed the recipe and the rest of the ingredients exactly. Thank you for sharing, I know I will be making this cake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States