Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is a quick recipe and turns out excellent. The cake was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this recipe without using the butter extract and it was still amazingly good. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Merrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Oh gosh! This is so good. I really wish I had used the butter flavoring, so I could rate this with no changes, but I didn't find it at my normal store, and didn't want to make another trip. SOOOOO, I left that out. But it was wonderful without it!! So moist and I LOVED the glaze. I turned the loaves of bread out of the pans and let cool on a rack and placed over waxed paper to catch the run off glaze so that I could scoop it back up and pour it over the warm loaves so that none got wasted. I also poked a couple of holes in the bread with a knife so that the glaze soaked in a little. Great recipe and I will definitely make again with the butter flavoring to see if it's even better! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a delicious cake-like bread and it's very sweet. When I make again I will only make a 1/4 of the glaze. I had lots of glaze left over and the glaze made the bread very sweet. I had to add in flour because the flour to liquid ratio is off and that may be why some had difficulty getting this to cook through. It is delicious and I plan to make again but make less sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Excellent! Didn't even use the glaze, although this time I will try it! Even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was absolutely AMAZING! Seriously, 100% perfect. I followed the recipe to a T and it was one of the best desserts I've ever HAD. My husband and two small children loved it, too. Definitely becoming a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It was great! I added a little orange zest in the glaze and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
soooo yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
LOVE! I made it in a bundt pan and it was beautiful. I made the glaze a lot thicker but that's the only tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaulaB
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I decided to try this recipe because it had such great reviews. This is definitely a cake and not a bread as it is very sweet. The taste is very good, texture is soft and moist. I actually made this recipe twice in 2 days. The first attempt was made exactly as the recipe stated, only I used my food processor to mix the ingredients. I baked it for 1 hour and tested it with a toothpick. After about 5 minutes out of the oven, the cake/bread fell quite flat. When it was cooled, I cut it and discovered that the center was uncooked batter. Since it has such a high rating I decided to try it again and mix by hand and bake it longer. I ended up leaving it for 1 hour and 20 minutes since the top was quite browned by then. The cake is higher and less battery in the middle, but I am still not happy with the appearance. I will look for another recipe rather than baking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States