Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I didn't have any butter flavored extract but it was still great. The glaze really sweetens the loaf and gives it a very unique taste. In my opinion, it's the glaze that makes this special and it would be just like any other poppy seed bread without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Good recipe! I don't know why but I had some batter left so I filled a mini-muffin tin and baked them. Then when the muffins were done baking and still warm, I dipped the tops in the glaze and cool on a wire rack. They were so good! Didn't even last an hour! I use the bread as a sping dessert, I slice the bread and then put a dollop of lemon curd on it and top it with a strawberry. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
THIS BREAD IS AMAZING!!!! Moin xxxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This was great! I just tossed everything in the mixer and poof it was done. I did not use the glaze and it was still very moist. I took this to a family gathering and it was gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Very tasty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I was trying to match a fantastic poppy seed bread that I purchase at a Mennonite bakery, the best I've ever tasted. I've tried several other similar receipes and this is the closest I've come. I'll definitely make this a "regular bake" at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I baked this bread for my sister's "goody day" at work today. It was exceptional! It is a quick recipe and she asked me not to use poppy seeds, but not to skimp on the glaze. It was a hit with her co-workers. Thank you Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This is wonderful. More like a cake than a bread. Very easy to make and turned out just right. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Delicious, moist bread. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOOKEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
My husband loves Poppy Seed Bread but I had lost the recipe a friend had once given him. I tried this one and it is identical. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States