Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I was trying to match a fantastic poppy seed bread that I purchase at a Mennonite bakery, the best I've ever tasted. I've tried several other similar receipes and this is the closest I've come. I'll definitely make this a "regular bake" at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I wasn't able to find the butter extract, but even without it, it was really yummy! The glaze really makes it special--thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This was great! I just tossed everything in the mixer and poof it was done. I did not use the glaze and it was still very moist. I took this to a family gathering and it was gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
AMAZING! I made muffins instead of bread (recipe for 2 loafs = 22 regular-sized muffins; bake at 350 for 20 minutes) and made the following changes: 1 cup butter & 1/3 cup oil instead of all oil (I didn't have butter-flavored extract), only 1 1/3 cup sugar (they still PLENTY sweet!), and double the almond extract and HALF the powdered sugar in the glaze. I dipped the tops of the muffins in the glaze twice (dip the whole batch, then go back and dip them again). Three picky kids gave them two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This was a tasty bread, but I reduced the oil to cut down on fat and calories. I used 1 cup oil plus 1/3 c. plain, unsweetened applesauce. I couldn't taste the applesauce at all. Also, I thought the recipe made way too much glaze. I would cut it in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Good recipe! I don't know why but I had some batter left so I filled a mini-muffin tin and baked them. Then when the muffins were done baking and still warm, I dipped the tops in the glaze and cool on a wire rack. They were so good! Didn't even last an hour! I use the bread as a sping dessert, I slice the bread and then put a dollop of lemon curd on it and top it with a strawberry. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I didn't have any butter flavored extract but it was still great. The glaze really sweetens the loaf and gives it a very unique taste. In my opinion, it's the glaze that makes this special and it would be just like any other poppy seed bread without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I know that taste is subjective but anyone who does not absolutely love this must not be able to taste! This is awesomeness! I could not find butter extract at the grocery store so I just left it out and added a little more vanilla and almond extract. I guess if you do have the butter extract this bread would be off the charts! I put lots of Pam in the bread pans and removed the bread after 5 minutes, then poked holes and glazed. I would NEVER leave the bread in the pan, then glaze! It will stick! Just pop it right out, then take your time (like 5 minutes or so) and spoon the glaze over the bread over and over till it all sinks in. LOVE THIS! I will serve to my house full of guests on Thanksgiving morning! Oh, one more thing...the glaze is an absolute must! Yes it is sweet..but it is a glaze afterall! This bread is awesome because of the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
very, very good. Easy to make as well. Personal preference, I used half as much OJ in glaze, thought it overpowered the almond flavor. Tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Delicious, moist bread. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States