Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
perfect bread. Didn't change a thing. It's a keeper. 10 stars, if I could rate it higher. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This bread is fabulous! I did not change a thing. Thanks for the recipe. I have made it now 7 times in 3 months. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
So incredibly delicious! I made mine in loaf pans because the recipe states that it's bread. Easily would be passed off as a cake if made in a bundt pan. The glaze is VERY sweet. Next time I don't think I'll put as much on. This is going to be a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This was yummy. Never heard of butter flavored extract, so don't know if I miss it or not. I made mine in a bundt pan, and it was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe is a definite keeper! I made a few minor changes to the recipe by replacing some of the oil with 1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce. I also used a bundt pan. For the glaze I used passion fruit juice, because I didn't have any orange juice on hand. We all loved this bread. Will definitely be making it again. In response to jhugs in the UK, butter extract is actually butter flavoring. You may find it marketed in the UK as butter essence. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Can someone tell me what is butter flavoured extract? We don't have this in the UK and what amount should I compensate with real butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I made this today and it tastes great. However, I had to bake it a little longer in order to get the center done, which I think dried it out a bit. Also, I put the glaze on the loaves while they were still in the pans. Next time, I will definitely remove the loaves first! I'm thinking of trying this in a bundt cake pan to see if it does well as a cake (and bakes quicker.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I was just about to submit this same exact recipe!! The amount of poppy seeds can be adjusted - I tripled the amount and it tasted great. Also, the glaze on this is phenomenal - just keep layering it and each layer crystallizes beautifully. Overall, absolutely AMAZING - I get asked for the recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Wegrzyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Darien, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I lowered the sugar just by about 1/4 then my roommate and I ate both loaves pretty much all by ourselves. Delicious but I should go run a few miles now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I wish I had taken a photo of this bread. I will next time - it was so perfect in the pan and really turned out beautifully. My family went nuts over it. I prepared it exactly as directed, and it turned out sweet and moist. I have made poppy seed bread for years and never had such a great recipe! I also sprinkled slivered almonds over the top of the glaze right after pouring the glaze on, which was the perfect holiday touch. Thanks so much for this...it will be a repeat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texanbelle71

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States