Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Great recipe, my Mom used to make this 20 years ago! I have a recipe that is almost exact to this one. Only diff was 1 1/8 cup of oil (which I did, to cut down the fat) and it turned out a bit more cakelike that I wanted... but good... And for the GLAZE... only 3/4 C of granulated sugar, REAL squeezed orange juice-- So the glaze isn't quite as sweet, and doesn't "COVER" the entire loaf, just more of a drizzle, here and there... I also like to put either lemon zest, or orange zest into it. Another change you can make, if you want to offset the sweetness, is use LEMON juice... 1/4 cup of the juice from a LEMON instead of the OJ. Then it gives it some ZING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAKKOJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Very good bread. They are a little sweeter than I would like so I omitted the glaze on a couple of the loaves I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Wow...delicious!!! I would give it ten stars ,too, if I could (as per another reviewer)! This is the exact same recipe as Poppy Seed Bread III on this website, except that recipe calls for baking at 400 degrees. That is way too high for my oven. This recipe is just right, although I always bake my muffins and breads at around 325 or 335 for a little longer so the edges don't burn. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this for a brunch and it was well received. I baked it in a bundt pan and cooked it for a little over an hour. I used only vanilla and almond extract. Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Really good! The edges were burnt by the time the middle was done, though. Still, the final product was delicious! I did what others suggested and applied the glaze using a pastry brush, and did it in layers, allowing each layer to solidify between applications. I also completely omitted the butter flavored extract from the loaf and the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Great recipe, I would definitely make it again. I made mini loaves and baked them for 1 hour, next time I will only bake for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was wonderful! I baked it this afternoon. I sent a loaf home with my dad for my mom and she wanted the recipe as well. I will be making this again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I've made this twice and absolutely love it! I only used half of the frosting and it came out delicious. It's a family favorite and I'm even taking it to Thanksgiving family reunion so everyone can have a share of it. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Before using Allrecipes, I had this same recipe (kinda weird!) It is my absolute favorite recipe for poppy seed bread. I made it for my roommates, and my husband before we were married and they all loved it! Two loaves never lasted more than a day and a half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Osan, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
perfect bread. Didn't change a thing. It's a keeper. 10 stars, if I could rate it higher. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States