Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This bread is very good. I made it for the first time last night and my whole family loved it. I cut the recipe in half, but other than that followed it exactly. The only suggestion I would give is when doing the glaze, poor a little and let it dry then add more and let it dry. Keep up this process until you use all the glaze. Otherwise most of it runs off the bread! I LOVE this bread and am bringing it to a brunch at church on Saturday =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is just like my mom's recipe, except hers always came out of the pan with no problem! (I forgot to add a little flour for the altitude) I didn't have orange juice for my glaze, so I just did it with lemon juice and the extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Very, very delicious and extremely easy to make. I have never seen two loaves of bread disappear THAT quickly! My husband is a very picky eater with a snobby palate, and he absolutely loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This stuff is delicious. I have had people offer to pay me for the recipe. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
everyone absolutely loved this bread. second time i made it i did a loaf without the icing because they complained that it was too sweet. but i think the icing really makes this bread. so next time i'll probably cut down the sugar in the bread and keep the glaze =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This recipe was good, but not great. I think that all the different kinds of extract made it taste to artificial, instead of complementing each other they worked against each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe went over well. It turned out more like a cake than a bread, but it was yummy. I reduced the oil to 1 cup, and omitted the almond extract and butter flavoring. The glaze turned it from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING! My favorite sweet bread on the site! The only change I made was 1/3 cup applesauce and 1 cup oil. I though the glaze made it extra sweet, moist, and delicious. Hard to keep from eating the whole loaf at once. I think I'm going to try it as muffins next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! My sons devoured these at breakfast. I, however, did not make the glaze. I wanted to see the sweetness of the bread by itself and it is perfect! I think the glaze would definitely enhance the flavors. Will make in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Very moist and flavorful! I didn't have butter extract so I just tried using butter, I also didn't have almond extract so I used lemon extract instead. Very yummy, once again...I make it one night and it is almost gone already...I think someone likes desserts in my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States