Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This bread is moist and very good, the butter extract adds the butter flavor without the added fat; in my opinion, it is not necessary. If I make it again, I might try cutting the oil down and also note that the glaze is verrrryy sweet, so that would need to be adapted to taste as well. Nice recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
YUM!!! This is more a cake than a bread. Not too heavy and not too sweet. I made on 9x5 loaf and one 8x4 in the same amount of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This tasted really good. The glaze was a bit strong to me but still complimented the bread. Made only 8 servings to equal 1 mini-loaf pan. Next time, I would like to sub 1/2 the sugar and 1/2 the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very easy to make and taste really good!! I substitute all oil with apple sauce for the first time and it turned out too tough in texture. I followed the recipe except omitting almond extract and it tasted really good. I didn't make any glaze since I was out of powder sugar but I'll defenitely try the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a great recipe; I've been looking for a poppy seed bread that wasn't lemon based and was glad to find this recipe. I was a little concerned when I saw how thin the batter was, but it baked into a very light, moist bread. I thought the bread itself was plenty sweet, so I left off the glaze (I'd suggest only using the glaze if you intend to use this recipe as a dessert). For those of you who have had trouble finding the butter flavored extract, try the cake decorating section of Michaels, Hobby Lobby, or Wal Mart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very sweet even without the glaze but made exactly as directed and was so good. More like a dessert but yummy for sure. A small slice goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
EXACTLY what i was looing for. i made mine without the glaze and the bread is so delicious!! very comparable to jumbo almond poppy seed muffins that a local bakery makes. my family loves and i will make loaves regularly. thank you.=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was the first time that i made this bread, i did add the zest and juice of one lemon, it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
The bread was great but I had a hard time getting them out of the pans. Maybe I should have poured the glaze on after they were removed from the pans. Any suggestions on how long to leave them in the pans? I usually remove after 15 minutes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ABromund
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Absolutely delicious and easy. Tastes just like those coffee shop muffins...yum :) I think next time I will try the glaze with lemon juice instead of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABromund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States