Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Delicious! This is a wonderful moist cake, and not too sweet, so the glaze is a nice complement. I used melted real butter instead of veg oil/butter flavoring. For the glaze I skipped the extracts listed and used grated orange rind and a bit of orange oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCKAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Good flavor, but I will definitely half the glaze next time. Haha! How are you supposed to get it out of the pan with all that glooped on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Yummy. Didn't have butter extract, but these were still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and then made it into mini muffins. It yielded 30 scrumptious little bites. I love the almond orange combination of the glaze. As another reviewer commented - make the glaze! I also added some orange zest to the glaze to add some color. I think this recipe would also be good with lemon extract instead of the almond with some lemon juice in the glaze. I, too, did not not have any butter extract, so I just left if out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
very good. i followed everything exactly except for the butter extract which i couldn't seem to find. i will make this again! oh, i almost forgot... i used a bundt pan for nicer presentation at a dinner party (it turned our great, it just took a little longer to bake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I know that taste is subjective but anyone who does not absolutely love this must not be able to taste! This is awesomeness! I could not find butter extract at the grocery store so I just left it out and added a little more vanilla and almond extract. I guess if you do have the butter extract this bread would be off the charts! I put lots of Pam in the bread pans and removed the bread after 5 minutes, then poked holes and glazed. I would NEVER leave the bread in the pan, then glaze! It will stick! Just pop it right out, then take your time (like 5 minutes or so) and spoon the glaze over the bread over and over till it all sinks in. LOVE THIS! I will serve to my house full of guests on Thanksgiving morning! Oh, one more thing...the glaze is an absolute must! Yes it is sweet..but it is a glaze afterall! This bread is awesome because of the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I was looking for an easy receipe to put together when I invited a friend for an impromtu dinner. This was so easy to make and turned out so good. My friend loved it so much she had several helpings. I did not have the almond extract but no matter the result was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
AMAZING! I made muffins instead of bread (recipe for 2 loafs = 22 regular-sized muffins; bake at 350 for 20 minutes) and made the following changes: 1 cup butter & 1/3 cup oil instead of all oil (I didn't have butter-flavored extract), only 1 1/3 cup sugar (they still PLENTY sweet!), and double the almond extract and HALF the powdered sugar in the glaze. I dipped the tops of the muffins in the glaze twice (dip the whole batch, then go back and dip them again). Three picky kids gave them two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States