Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It was great! I added a little orange zest in the glaze and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
soooo yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
LOVE! I made it in a bundt pan and it was beautiful. I made the glaze a lot thicker but that's the only tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaulaB
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I decided to try this recipe because it had such great reviews. This is definitely a cake and not a bread as it is very sweet. The taste is very good, texture is soft and moist. I actually made this recipe twice in 2 days. The first attempt was made exactly as the recipe stated, only I used my food processor to mix the ingredients. I baked it for 1 hour and tested it with a toothpick. After about 5 minutes out of the oven, the cake/bread fell quite flat. When it was cooled, I cut it and discovered that the center was uncooked batter. Since it has such a high rating I decided to try it again and mix by hand and bake it longer. I ended up leaving it for 1 hour and 20 minutes since the top was quite browned by then. The cake is higher and less battery in the middle, but I am still not happy with the appearance. I will look for another recipe rather than baking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
No glaze necessary! This is a moist, delicious cakelike bread with a wonderfully crispy exterior. I didn't use the butter flavoring, and it was no problem. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe every year for more than 15 years. It is always a hit and my son in law always makes sure I make it at Christmas for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Taylor Benedict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have looked for this particular recipe for over 20 years and was so very happy to find it! Excellent flavor combinations! I like adding the glaze because it gives a little tartness and gets a little crunchy on top like a glazed donut. The only change I made was to add a full teaspoon of butter and almond extract to the glaze and I used frozen oj concentrate with a little water instead of plain juice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAUZIN
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Oh I am addicted to this bread! I make it so I can have it for breakfast during the week. I am not a bread person but this is really the best I have ever tasted. Great as muffins also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Wonderful! Did not have/use butter flavoring. Sub. part butter for oil in recipe. Glaze was great. Will make again for sure! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
You will not be disappointed with this recipe! I made is yesterday, and followed the directions except I used 2 tsp. almond extract and 1 tsp. vanilla extract in the batter, which I don't regret. I wanted a bread that truly had the almond flavor, which was successful. I read the other reviews, and agree that the batter seems too thin, but it baked just fine. The butter extract is not difficult to find, and is a must for this recipe! I found it in the baking aisle at Wal-Mart, Cub Foods, and Coborns. I also added sliced almonds on top, prior to baking. I baked two 9" loaf pans in the middle oven rack for 70 minutes (60 minutes was not enough), cooled for five minutes, put them on a plate and added the glaze. DELICIOUS, and would definitely make again!! With the butter and almond extracts in this recipe, you end up with a flavorful, rich almond poppy seed bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States