Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I was just about to submit this same exact recipe!! The amount of poppy seeds can be adjusted - I tripled the amount and it tasted great. Also, the glaze on this is phenomenal - just keep layering it and each layer crystallizes beautifully. Overall, absolutely AMAZING - I get asked for the recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Wegrzyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Darien, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I lowered the sugar just by about 1/4 then my roommate and I ate both loaves pretty much all by ourselves. Delicious but I should go run a few miles now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I wish I had taken a photo of this bread. I will next time - it was so perfect in the pan and really turned out beautifully. My family went nuts over it. I prepared it exactly as directed, and it turned out sweet and moist. I have made poppy seed bread for years and never had such a great recipe! I also sprinkled slivered almonds over the top of the glaze right after pouring the glaze on, which was the perfect holiday touch. Thanks so much for this...it will be a repeat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texanbelle71

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe is wonderful and so easy! I made three smaller loaves and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made four mini loaves, but will probably make three next time because they were a little small. The flavor is a wonderful combination and it was very popular at a breakfast event I took it to. I used the full 2 cups of powdered sugar in the glaze, but will use less next time so that it is thinner and and not so sweet. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Great poppyseed bread... I didn't have the butter flavored extract so I used extra almond extract.. I also subbed whole wheat flour for 1/3 of the flour, which didn't seem to effect it much... and I added about 50% more poppyseeds but I still can't get enough of them! Next time I'll double the poppyseeds. Delicious, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I halved the recipe and filled 3 min-loaf pans which baked for 40 min. I have a hot oven. I substituted 3/4 c. coconut milk for the cows milk in this recipe and used soy milk for the remainder. I had butter flavored extract in the cupboard, but since there was not a date on it, usually I date things when I open them so I know how old they are, but this time I slipped up. So the butter flavored seemed a little strong, so in the glaze I used 2 tsp. melted u/s butter for the butter flavor. I did not poke the holes, I never do, for recipes that suggest this. I feel saturating the warm loaves is enough, and so it was with this recipe. They came out perfect and ever so hard to stop eating. Thank you for sharing a great recipe Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
The batter was very runny, and had me a little worried, but baked up fine. Made kind of short loaves, I wonder if my pans are bigger that 9 inches. But great flavor, and very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I wasn't able to find the butter extract, but even without it, it was really yummy! The glaze really makes it special--thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
very, very good. Easy to make as well. Personal preference, I used half as much OJ in glaze, thought it overpowered the almond flavor. Tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States