Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made four mini loaves, but will probably make three next time because they were a little small. The flavor is a wonderful combination and it was very popular at a breakfast event I took it to. I used the full 2 cups of powdered sugar in the glaze, but will use less next time so that it is thinner and and not so sweet. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Great poppyseed bread... I didn't have the butter flavored extract so I used extra almond extract.. I also subbed whole wheat flour for 1/3 of the flour, which didn't seem to effect it much... and I added about 50% more poppyseeds but I still can't get enough of them! Next time I'll double the poppyseeds. Delicious, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I halved the recipe and filled 3 min-loaf pans which baked for 40 min. I have a hot oven. I substituted 3/4 c. coconut milk for the cows milk in this recipe and used soy milk for the remainder. I had butter flavored extract in the cupboard, but since there was not a date on it, usually I date things when I open them so I know how old they are, but this time I slipped up. So the butter flavored seemed a little strong, so in the glaze I used 2 tsp. melted u/s butter for the butter flavor. I did not poke the holes, I never do, for recipes that suggest this. I feel saturating the warm loaves is enough, and so it was with this recipe. They came out perfect and ever so hard to stop eating. Thank you for sharing a great recipe Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
The batter was very runny, and had me a little worried, but baked up fine. Made kind of short loaves, I wonder if my pans are bigger that 9 inches. But great flavor, and very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I wasn't able to find the butter extract, but even without it, it was really yummy! The glaze really makes it special--thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
very, very good. Easy to make as well. Personal preference, I used half as much OJ in glaze, thought it overpowered the almond flavor. Tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Good recipe! I don't know why but I had some batter left so I filled a mini-muffin tin and baked them. Then when the muffins were done baking and still warm, I dipped the tops in the glaze and cool on a wire rack. They were so good! Didn't even last an hour! I use the bread as a sping dessert, I slice the bread and then put a dollop of lemon curd on it and top it with a strawberry. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I didn't have any butter flavored extract but it was still great. The glaze really sweetens the loaf and gives it a very unique taste. In my opinion, it's the glaze that makes this special and it would be just like any other poppy seed bread without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
My husband loves Poppy Seed Bread but I had lost the recipe a friend had once given him. I tried this one and it is identical. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Delicious, moist bread. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States