Poppy Seed Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I did not have butter flavoring so I used Cointreau in the bread and extra almond flavoring in the glaze. I baked one loaf 55 minutes and the other about 63 (different sized loaf pans). It is very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Not a fan. WAY too much sugar and it turned out hard and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I LOVE THIS! I didn't have poppyseed because it is so fricking expensive, so I got one of those little jars of poppyseed filling you use for cookies, and used the whole thing. I had to bake it like 15 minutes longer. Otherwise, I made it just like the recipe said to, and with the glaze, WOW! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fabulous. The only thing I will do differently next time is double the poppy seeds. I used mini loaf pans, and the recipe made five generous loaves. (You could make six smaller loaves.) For the small pans it took about 45 - 50 minutes to bake. If you don't care much for almond flavor you might want to reduce the amount of almond extract, but for me it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe. My husband raved about it as he is a poppy seed bread lover. I made it with unrefined coconut oil and it could not be tasted in the bread if that is a concern for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is an old standby in our family, I have an ancient newspaper clipping featuring it. They called it Amish Poppy Seed Bread. It's the best ever made just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Love the sound of it but . . . I live in New Zealand and have never heard of butter extract. Can I just use melted butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
this turned out pretty good but, just a word of warning to anyone who is still working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I was given this recipe about 25 years ago, and it was the best poppy seed bread I've ever had - then about 5 years ago I lost the recipe and had lost track of the source person! Thank goodness I thought to look here - I knew someone would have posted it. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I can't say enough good things about this bread. Every time I've made it it has been delicious, and anytime I make it for company, I'm hounded mercilessly until I give them a copy of the recipe. I only have two comments to make about the recipe: I always increase the amount of poppy seeds up to 3 tablespoons. I consistently find that the baking time should be increased as well. It usually takes at least 70 minutes for both loaves to get done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States