Poppy Seed Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
OK so I thought I was pretty safe with the good reviews on this one but I am not happy with it at all. I substituted applesauce for the oil and could not find the butter extract anywhere. Other than that I followed the recipie and I just am not impressed. It is too moist in my opinion. It does not have enough flavor. It needs a lot of changing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npaulus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This bread was delicious! I baked in those non-stick pans for 65 minutes. The glaze is awesome, adds that extra bit of sweetness, and I love how the outter crust of the bread gets crunchy, and the middle is light and delicate. I added just a bit more of the poppy seed, but just because I like poppy seed. This bread would also be good with lemon flavoring, and glaze made with lemon juice instead of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I was give this recipe about 20 years ago and, since then, I have been asked to make it for every event. I have given the recipe (which was called Almond Teacake Bread) to so many people. It is as yummy at breadfast as it is for a dessert. Kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Amazing! I never use the glaze and this loaf gets rave reviews every time! One thing I do play with: each time I've added just a tablespoon of Cointreau. Never tried it without it, and never tried it with the butter flavouring (I skip it) -- but WOW it's delicious :) Will certainly make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I was disappointed. I thought it would be better because of all the good reviews it got. This stuck to the pans horribly and was way to eggy. Due to that I will be serving it for breakfast and not after dinner. This is not a bread. More like an eggy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I have been making this bread for Christmas for over 20 years minus the glaze. I add two cups of frozen pie cherries off of my tree. I have used one can of cherries (NOT pie filling) and the result is just as fabulous. Great recipe - thank you for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This bread was great! It was very moist and cake-like. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was a delicious quick bread and I even forgot to put the gaze on at the end. Next time I will add the glaze but it was still delicious without it. Also, I didn't have any butter favoring but it still was great. I also substituted 1/2 applesauce for the oil. 400 degrees is too high for my oven so I baked at 350 until they were lightly browned and the top was firm to the touch. I baked in six mini loaves. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
The combination of Butter & Almond extract in this cake is amazing! This is by far the best one yet that I found and made on this site. It is very moist and bakes beautifully in a bundt pan.I have made this many times and made a few minor adjustments to my liking: I always add more poppy seeds as 1 1/2 TBSP stated in the recipe of Poppy seeds is NOT enough to make Poppy Seed Bread. I increased it to 1/4 Cup of the seeds and 1 TBSP more of each of the extracts to suit my taste. I also find that the cake does not need the glaze as it's perfect without it. I just sift Icing sugar on top for presentation. With my minor changes it's perfect and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This turned out great. It was very dense, much like a banana bread. I gave one load to my friend and her family ate it up in one night! I didn't have the almond extract, so I doubled the vanilla and it was still delicious! My daughter and I just finished off the last of the loaf! I'd only make one change...I'd add more poppy seeds to rhe recipe:) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobeads

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Level, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States