Poppy Seed Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
OK so I thought I was pretty safe with the good reviews on this one but I am not happy with it at all. I substituted applesauce for the oil and could not find the butter extract anywhere. Other than that I followed the recipie and I just am not impressed. It is too moist in my opinion. It does not have enough flavor. It needs a lot of changing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npaulus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This bread was delicious! I baked in those non-stick pans for 65 minutes. The glaze is awesome, adds that extra bit of sweetness, and I love how the outter crust of the bread gets crunchy, and the middle is light and delicate. I added just a bit more of the poppy seed, but just because I like poppy seed. This bread would also be good with lemon flavoring, and glaze made with lemon juice instead of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I was give this recipe about 20 years ago and, since then, I have been asked to make it for every event. I have given the recipe (which was called Almond Teacake Bread) to so many people. It is as yummy at breadfast as it is for a dessert. Kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Amazing! I never use the glaze and this loaf gets rave reviews every time! One thing I do play with: each time I've added just a tablespoon of Cointreau. Never tried it without it, and never tried it with the butter flavouring (I skip it) -- but WOW it's delicious :) Will certainly make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I was disappointed. I thought it would be better because of all the good reviews it got. This stuck to the pans horribly and was way to eggy. Due to that I will be serving it for breakfast and not after dinner. This is not a bread. More like an eggy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I have been making this bread for Christmas for over 20 years minus the glaze. I add two cups of frozen pie cherries off of my tree. I have used one can of cherries (NOT pie filling) and the result is just as fabulous. Great recipe - thank you for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This bread was great! It was very moist and cake-like. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was a delicious quick bread and I even forgot to put the gaze on at the end. Next time I will add the glaze but it was still delicious without it. Also, I didn't have any butter favoring but it still was great. I also substituted 1/2 applesauce for the oil. 400 degrees is too high for my oven so I baked at 350 until they were lightly browned and the top was firm to the touch. I baked in six mini loaves. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
The combination of Butter & Almond extract in this cake is amazing! This is by far the best one yet that I found and made on this site. It is very moist and bakes beautifully in a bundt pan.I have made this many times and made a few minor adjustments to my liking: I always add more poppy seeds as 1 1/2 TBSP stated in the recipe of Poppy seeds is NOT enough to make Poppy Seed Bread. I increased it to 1/4 Cup of the seeds and 1 TBSP more of each of the extracts to suit my taste. I also find that the cake does not need the glaze as it's perfect without it. I just sift Icing sugar on top for presentation. With my minor changes it's perfect and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This turned out great. It was very dense, much like a banana bread. I gave one load to my friend and her family ate it up in one night! I didn't have the almond extract, so I doubled the vanilla and it was still delicious! My daughter and I just finished off the last of the loaf! I'd only make one change...I'd add more poppy seeds to rhe recipe:) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobeads

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Level, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States